Thanksgiving Happiness

This week’s photo challenge with the Daily Press is entitled “Happiness.”  I don’t really consider myself a photographer or a photo blogger, but the post I was going to write for today actually goes well with the challenge to post photos of things that make you happy.  So, I am posting it and saying it is also part of the challenge. **Thanks to my Dad who took all of these pictures.

This weekend was Canadian Thanksgiving.  The thing that made this particular Thanksgiving awesome was that not only were we home with family, but we actually got to spend Thanksgiving with both of our families, something that we haven’t been able to do in a leisurely fashion since we have been together.

We had a lovely traditional turkey dinner with Patrick’s siblings and his Mom’s side of the family complete with watching football (I thought that made us a little multi-cultural with the American football tradition) and crazy pet stories.

We had dessert out with my three best friends from home and their husbands.  It was one of the first times we all hung out as an entirety in ages not at a wedding-related event. We actually closed down the restaurant (mind you, it was a Sunday and Thanksgiving, so the restaurant closed at 10).

And then, we went to the lovely farm where my Aunt, Uncle and cousins live for Thanksgiving there with my family.

They have been having Thanksgiving-like festivities together up there for a while.  This was the first year we got to go and it was sheer happiness.  The day came complete with lots of talking, food, a grand tour of the barn (with the ENTIRE group of us… If you knew my grandmother, the fact she came would blow your mind) and lots of playing around.  The pictures tell the story well on their own.

It is wonderful to be close to family and friends to actually get to do these sorts of things together.  Also, having some vacation time helps.

11 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Happiness

  1. Trisha,
    Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. Ours, still to come. Looks like you enjoyed yours!

    Also, just wanted to share with you that my mom’s recent CT scan includes these words: “Near complete resolution of a left lung base mass…appearance consistent with significant response to chemotherapy.” She is also been deemed strong enough to continue her chemo treatments next week.

    Looks like my family has much to be thankful for! Blessings to you!

    • It is a good holiday to have as a favourite!
      I am so happy to hear that your Mom is doing well! I was thinking about her and you this week and was going to check in. So good to hear!
      Blessings to you and your family!

  2. Thanks for reading and liking my blog. I loved reading about your Thanksgiving celebration. Ours will be here soon, and I look forward to good food and family. I hope I never need a radiation oncologist again, but I appreciate the work you do. Being an ovarian cancer survivor gives me a passion for cancer patients and treatment. God bless. Connie

    • I really enjoyed what I read of your blog. I plan to read more!
      I love Thanksgiving and all of the warm feelings and family it brings.
      I hope you never need a radiation oncologist again, too. That is one of the best things to hear!
      Take care!
      Trisha

      • I want to read more of your blog, too. As a
        survivor, I am drawn to anything about
        Cancer. I am very grateful for people like you
        who are willing to face the beast every day.
        Me? I hope I never encounter him again!
        Connie

      • Thanks!
        I too am drawn to anything about cancer, which is good given it is going to be my career for the next number of years. Seeing friends, family and may patients go through treatments every day make me want to know everything I can about it to help the best I can.
        Not encountering that beast again is the main goal! I hope you don’t encounter him again either!

Please, share your thoughts!

