Faith and Why I Would Lose My Mind Without It

Today’s prompt from the Daily Post is entitled “Un/Faithful.”  The suggested writing topic is to write about the role faith does or does not play in my life.

When it all comes down to it, I think faith has a role to play in everyone’s life.   Let me refer you to a delightful dictionary.com definition:

noun
1. confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another’s ability.
2. belief that is not based on proof: He had faith that the hypothesis would be substantiated by fact.
3. belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion: the firm faith of the Pilgrims.
4. belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc.: to be of the same faith with someone concerning honesty.
5. a system of religious belief: the Christian faith; the Jewish faith.

Faith is a lot of things.  And I think often we narrow it down to a religious thing.  And at that a Christian religious thing.  So, people presume that if you reject that, you reject faith.

Honestly, I think even if you don’t  believe in God, you still have to have faith in something… Even if it is just a trust that your car will start in the morning… Still faith.

I know some people are at baseline mistrusting of everyone but themselves and even things.  But when you turn the shower on and expect water, really, at the foundation of the word, that is a form of faith.

But, we are supposed to be talking about me here.  So, back to that.

Faith is extremely important in my life. 

First of all, there is the obvious.  I am not shy on here to admit that I believe in God and that Jesus came to the Earth to sacrifice himself for our sins.  This takes faith.  Although, a good read of The Case For Christ for a bit of scientific evidence doesn’t hurt either.  I believe this without seeing it.  Although I can argue that I have firsthand experienced the grace and peace that can come only from God.  I have heard God speak to me (maybe I am bat crazy, but that takes faith).  This faith keeps me going through the bad times and makes me more grateful for the good.  This faith is what motivates me to do strange things like head to church on Sundays when I could be sleeping or cleaning my house.  This faith is what drives many of my actions, and, for that matter, my inactions. 

 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade–kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. 6 In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  These have come so that your faith–of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire–may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. 8 Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, 9 for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls-1 Peter 1:3-9
These verses really help put together the whole faith thing for me. 

But, faith is more than just faith in God.  Although that, for me, that most important aspect of faith.

Faith is believing in things unseen.  As I said before, that can sometimes be as simple as knowing that when I turn on the tap, I have faith the water will come out. 

Faith is trusting in others.  I have a blind trust for people.  I have a bit of House in me, but for the most part, I believe things at face value, unless they are things that I know everyone lies about.  I am married, so every day we practice faithfulness with one another.

Working in medicine takes a lot of faith.  Yes, we are extremely evidence-based.  However, whenever you use that evidence and apply it to a person, it is a bit of a leap.  People’s bodies don’t read textbooks, so they don’t always do what you expect.  But not only that, it takes trust to function on a team.  I have to have faith in the nurses and other physicians and patients and families to know they do what is necesary.  I trust that they are competent to do certain tasks.  Sometimes I am wrong, but you have to have some trust in order to survive.

If we don’t have faith, then it seems we miss out on so much.  If I didn’t have faith, I surely wouldn’t be able to function.  I couldn’t trust anything or anyone.  I would lose my mind at work trying to prove every diagnosis (sometimes you just have to try something and see what happens, as opposed to pinning things down).  And realistically, I would have nothing to live for.  All of this would be for no greater purpose.

Faith is big.  It is bigger than the box we put it in.  So, faith is a big part of my life.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

12 thoughts on “Faith and Why I Would Lose My Mind Without It

  1. Nice! I loved the part about having faith the water will come on when you turn the tap. Every day when I take a hot shower, I give thanks to the woman who nagged the man who invented indoor plumbing. We’ve had times when the electricity went out and the water runs cold – ooohhhh, burrr – I am so grateful when I have lights, heat and hot water!

  2. This is a very thought-provoking post, but as an atheist, I want to respond to some of your comments at the end. You state that without faith you “would have nothing to live for” and that “[a]ll of this would be for no greater purpose”, which I think are common misconceptions that people of faith have about people who are agnostic/atheist. I have many things to live for (family, friends, experiencing the wonder of life), and I don’t believe that I need to have faith in a higher power to appreciate or enjoy these things. I also believe that many of the things that I do in my life serve a greater purpose. The clinical work that I do serves my patients and hopefully gives them longer/better quality lives. The work that I do to improve service delivery in my city helps the medical system to function better and provide better care to large groups of people. And the research that I’m starting to do will hopefully help physicians to better treat patients around the world.

    I don’t in any way intend to bash faith or religion with my comment, but I want to dispel the myth that a person cannot have something to live for or purpose in their life without a belief in a god or gods.

    • Thanks for your thoughtful response! I love hearing different perspectives.

      I also love what you said about having lots to live for with regards to family and friends and the wonder of life! Very true indeed!

      I guess I see it as we all have faith in someone or something, including people in our lives! So, by not having faith, I see it as not counting on those things and people, as well as my spiritual life.

      I also agree with you very much on the medical practice side of things. It is so important and something I strive to make extremely important in my life. And that is easy because the work is so rewarding!

      Thanks again for sharing your views!

    • Oh, and I am glad you are dispelling the myth that people can’t have purpose without God! It is good to keep people educated. There are many important purposes out there, especially the ones you mentioned (all of which we have in common). :)

  3. Pingback: Reflections: Keep The Faith… | Mirth and Motivation

  4. Pingback: The Tyranny of Negotiation « Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Please, share your thoughts!

