Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Finding Under My Tree

It is Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish day.  Whoo!

The topic today is supposed to be the top ten 2014 releases I can’t wait to read.

I have a problem with that topic.

My problem is that I am far too oblivious to pop culture even books included, sadly, to know what books are expected in 2014.  Plus, my to read list is so unbelievably long, I feel like I could not ever read anything published after today and still not get through it all.

So, I looked at future topics.  And skimmed my blog reader.  And I have a new idea… I am doing December 24th’s list… Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me.  I know some people are done their shopping, but I also know others (like my lovely husband) have not started, so I thought I would put this out there to be kind of helpful.  I always feel guilty asking for things, but I know people keep asking him what I need or want… I guess this helps fill the want gap.

  1. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Powell.  I keep hearing rave reviews about this book. 
  2. The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors and the Collision of Two Cultures by Anne Fadiman.  I have a fascination with how different cultures view illness and medicine and how “my world” and “their world” connect.  This would be a great lesson.
  3. The Radiation Sonnets: For My Love, In Sickness and in Health by Jane Yolen.  Radiation is in the title… Need I say more?  But seriously, it sounds beautiful and would be good insight for my real life.  Also, it is poetry, so that is kind of stretching my literary limits.
  4. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards.  It sounds intense, but I think that this is an important aspect of the world of medicine back in the day, notions about parenting/institutional care and relationships.
  5. I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai.  This book has been super popular lately and with good reason.  Again, my book choices seem intense, but I feel like this is a world I need to learn more about.
  6. Looking For Alaska by John Green.  This is the only John Green book I haven’t read, so this seems like an obvious pick to me.
  7. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini.  I have read all of his other books, again, it seems like a natural progression.
  8. The Silver Star by Jeanette Walls.  I like her style and the story sounds intriguing.
  9. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins.  I’m a bit embarrassed, but I LOVED Anna and the French Kiss, so I am curious as to how this book and the next one in the series are.
  10. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith.  I have been wanting to try this book out for over a year.
15 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Finding Under My Tree

  1. Great idea…a not so subtle hint! :-) I recently went through my Amazon wishlist and made notes next to the books that I really, really want. In particular, I want to latest books by Jhumpa Lahiri and Tom Perrota. If Santa doesn’t bring them, they will be bought asap!

      • Exactly! My amazon list is more of a list for myself and it’s my go-to when I’m looking for a new book. I buy more off of it for myself than other people buy me for presents.

      • It works! I really need to keep a list so I can prioritize instead of often trying to remember in the middle of a bookstore what I was wanting to read when I feel like I want to read everything.

      • On the reverse, I use my Amazon wish list to jot down books that I want when I’m perusing the bookstore, to prevent me from buying everything at the time. I’ve been known to buy faster than I can read!

  2. I didn’t do this week’s topic either, as I don’t know a single book coming out in 2014. You have some good ones on your list. I wouldn’t mind Santa bringing me “I Am Malala” as well. I really enjoyed “Eleanor and Park” and “And The Mountains Echoed”, although I didn’t like it as much as his previous books.

    • I’m glad I’m not alone in the being unaware to the 2014 releases.
      I have heard that a lot of people haven’t liked “And The Mountains Echoed” as much as his previous books. I had also heard people not like “A Thousand Splendid Suns” as much either, but I still quite liked it, so it is worth the try!

  3. I really like a lot of these on your list, and hope you get some of them!
    I started reading I am Malala but the writing style wasn’t doing it for me. I still want to read her story but I will have to wait for a mood where I don’t mind the style.

Please, share your thoughts!

