Cheesecake, cookies and festive delights after a long day

Today was quite the opposite of yesterday’s “go read” day. I was on the go from 7:30 until 4. The charge nurse, who was out sick yesterday, was back and had me off following up on various consults that I didn’t even know existed, as well as the usual floor stuff and a couple family meetings. Much preferable to the boredom of making work to pass time. Eating lunch would have been nice, but at least I was busy enough it didn’t really occur to me that I was starving… Until I went onto a unit having a little Christmas party. Then, all I could think of were baked goods.

On a further baked goods note, I need to start my Christmas baking tonight. It may be still a few days away, but with work and being home with friends and family time is a little slim, so when I get time, I need to take advantage. The lovely things I salivated at in passing are also delightful motivation. Plus, the spouse is coming home tomorrow night, so there should probably be some sort of festive baked goods in the house to mark his arrival (he is a veritable Cookie Monster – his favorite Sesame Street character).

The thing is, my Mom does some baking, but my family has discovered that I not only enjoy baking, but I can make some things that other family members don’t or won’t make. They now take advantage. I have already had a cheesecake and a scotch cookie request (made the correct way, not my crazy modified living-away-from-home way). Fortunately, Mom bought some peanut butter balls, so I am out for that. I don’t mind. I quite like baking. The worst part is finding time when everyone is trying to make plans (I, despite my introverted ways, love said plans, they just hamper some of my more introverted plans).

Tonight, I am making scotch cookies… Because Patrick is coming home. And he likes cookies. And they are easier to make than the cheesecake. And if I were to make the cheesecake now, it would be consumed prior to Christmas. So, that is going to be a Christmas Eve day or Christmas Eve Eve project.

Cheesecake is a very happy thing. When I was in high school, there was a city market near my school where, during our lunch hours or after school, we would go to seek cheesecake-y goodness. It was our therapy to help us survive the craziness that was our IB program and the ridiculous number of extracurriculars my friends and I submerged ourselves in.

My Aunt, who died when I was a young child, made some very good cheesecake. It is said that I am quite like her and thus, I decided that I should learn to make cheesecake. On my own. By experimenting with various recipes. Unfortunately or fortunately, I have learned how to make cheesecake. Cheesecake that I like to eat. A lot. It is trouble. So, I only make it on special occasions. And generally not when I am stressed. Because then I might eat it. All of it. Thus, festive occasions. Patrick’s birthday, parties, holidays. Me having an exam or a rough week is not a decent occasion to make cheesecake. Christmas, however, is appropriate. I made a mint chocolate cheesecake last year for a Christmas party that was a hit, so it has been a special request this year. No complaints from me. Baking is fun. Eating is even more fun.

The recipe:
  • 1 cup Oreo cookie crumbs
  • 3 packages cream cheese
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup flour
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 package of mint chocolate chips
  • 125mL whipping cream
Heat oven to 350 degrees
Melt butter and mix with cookie crumbs. Press in bottom of a 9-inch spring form pan. Bake crust for 10 min.
In a mixing bowl combine cream cheese, sugar, flour and eggs. Beat well. Blend in sour cream and vanilla and ¾ package of mint chocolate chips. Pour batter over crust and place on bottom rack of the oven. Bake for 50-60min. Allow to cool and set for several hours in the refrigerator.
Melt the remaining ¼ package of mint chocolate chips into the whipping cream. Whip the cream until thickened. Spread over the top of the cheesecake.
Eat.

Everyone has a vice. That thing that gets them through the day that may not be the best for them. One of mine is coffee. Cheesecake, if it were more readily accessible would rival as another vice. Some people choose less healthy things to get in to. Some more healthy things. If only going for a run made me as happy as going to Starbucks…. Another vice we all should have is God. Someone to turn to when the going gets tough. To make it better or at least ease the hurt. It seems weird and intangible, but, in reality, He is the ultimate vice. And one I should turn to more often.

But, back to cookies… Here is my favorite Cookie Monster bit from a Sesame Street Christmas Eve circa 1978.

2 thoughts on “Cheesecake, cookies and festive delights after a long day

  1. Cookies! Me want cookies! Om nom nom nom! Can’t wait to eat all……I mean a few of those cookies when I arrive home! 🙂

Please, share your thoughts!

