Top ten books that broke my heart a little… One day late.

I know, I am a day late.  I have been meaning to try teaming up with The Broke and the Bookish for some time now.  Yesterday was just far too busy with the just getting home and such.  But an anti-Valentine’s topic is always right up my alley, even if I am softening a bit.

1.  Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.  A classic.  We all read it in high school and it did nothing for me then.  But, I re-read it earlier this year and I found the whole love triangle/unrequited love thing quite sad.

2.  Marley & Me by John Grogan.  The movie was a mix of sad and hilarity, as was the book.  Any story about families and pets and loss suck me in.  I am far to empathetic to read any book like this with the realities of having a family and a beloved (but crazy) pet.  I was either laughing or crying for the duration of the book.

3.  My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  I know this is stereotypical.  But I really loved the book.  Not the movie.  The book is mildly unrealistic (about the whole kidney transplantation issue), but really digs into our ethical and familial heartstrings.  Plus, the twist in the end and the epilogue make for a tear-jerking ending.

4.  Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult.  Another Jodi Picoult book… The woman has a gift.  This book, the story of a little girl with osteogenesis imperfecta, her older sister coping with the effects of disease on family life and her parents and family friend dealing with the issues of pre-natal screening, brings you into their world and shows you individual perspectives that lead you to relate to every single character, no matter who you really want to side with.  What got me was the ending with a twist.  You just never saw it coming.

5.  The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  This is one of my favorite books and movies.  It is obviously a heartbreaker… Time travelling away and yet to the ones you love.  And that is just at surface level.

6.  The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  Both stories within this… The one the narrator tells and the one he is currently in.  They are both beautiful and yet heartbreaking.  Anything with dementia in it makes me cry.

7.  Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom.  One of my all-time favorites.  But, dealing with death and dying and close friendships.  Who can’t be a bit sad when the inevitable happens?

8.  The Shack by William P. Young.  I know this book is positive and I recommend it to everyone.  It is an amazing portrait of God and how He can relate to and with us.  But, I really struggled with getting through the first 50 pages or so.

9.  Room by Emma Donoghue.  This book has so many positive elements looking at the parent-child relationship and child development.  But nonetheless, reading about what this child and his mother went through and what they have yet to overcome was tear-induicing.

10.  Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.   Another classic.  I love this book and the intertwined plots.  I like the musical equally.  But, with war and lovers and all of that good stuff, one can’t help but to have their heart broken a little.

2 thoughts on “Top ten books that broke my heart a little… One day late.

Please, share your thoughts!

