Top Ten Books I would save if my house were abducted by aliens (or some other disaster)

I am teaming up with Top Ten Tuesdays at The Broke and Bookish for yet another challenge… What ten books would you save if your house was abducted by aliens (or some other disaster)?

I look at this one as more of an irreplaceable and good book type of post.  Just because some books are replaceable because there are just that many around and available, despite their being really good.

  1. The Chronicles of Narnia Collection by C.S. Lewis.  This is actually problematic, though because it is MIA somewhere in my parents’ house… I think.  But if it were find-able, it would be at the top of my list.  Because I never want to lose it again.
  2. The Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  I loved this book and have re-read it several times.  I would be sad if it were involved in a nuclear meltdown or something of the sort.
  3. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory Song Book by Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley and Hal Leonard.  This book contains the music and lyrics for six of the songs in the original 1971 movie.  It remains one of my favorite song books and movies of all times.  (On an aside, while looking for the authors of this book, I found that there is a book about the making of said movie… Now on my to-read list).
  4. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  As popular as this book has become, I think I would not want to part with it.
  5. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  Again, very common, but if I had time to get exactly 10 books, that is one I would grab.
  6. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.  This edition has a really nice cover that matches a set with other nice covers.  It is the only one that I have, but I am drawn to it, so it would likely be grabbed.
  7. Toronto Notes.  Yes, this is a textbook.  But, you must understand that it contains basically everything there is to know about medicine.  Not really, but at least a general overview.  It is now available online, but I prefer the paper version.  Even though mine has fallen apart into two big pieces and several random pages.  My new edition is waiting for me in the undergrad office when I am back in the city (YAY).
  8. Not a fan by Ken Idleman.  I have raved about this book to many of the people I know.  I am not a bandwagon jumper, but I jumped on this bandwagon.   The book is all about how to be a follower of Christ and it is Biblically based and written in a style I can relate to and laugh at.  I would probably grab this before most of the others on the list.
  9. The Handbook of Evidence-Based Radiation Oncology.  Big geeky snort.  Yes.  I bought this at a conference I attended in Atlanta last year.  It gave me hope.  And then it came in handy for my electives.  And I will be able to use it in just a few short months (as long as I match).  It needs to come.
  10.  Bible.  Not just any Bible.  I actually considered not grabbing it because, really I have access to a million different versions of the Bible at my finger tips.  But, I would want to grab my lovely “Student Life Application Bible” circa 2005 with all of the cheesy teenage drama stories in the margins.  Not for those specifically, but for my underlines and margin notes and for what I hoard in its case.  There, I have the book I take notes from church in (well, except I left that home and brought the Bible here with me, whoops), bulletins from important services, cards from significant times in my life and notes from cool studies I have done.  It is the sentimental value of the contents of my delightful pink and green case that makes this Bible special.
  11.  My MacBook Pro.  Cheating?  Probably.  Its not really a book.  But it has book in the name.  And it contains all of my pictures, music and files.  Plus, access to any online reading I desire.   Just saying.  At least I added it as an extra number.

What books would you grab if there was an alien invasion or nuclear disaster or what have you (if, of course you had time to grab 10 books)?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I would save if my house were abducted by aliens (or some other disaster)

Please, share your thoughts!

