Top Ten Books I Would Give A Theme Song To

I am really enjoying the whole Top Ten Tuesdays, so yet again, I am linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. 

This week, the topic is the top ten books you would give a theme song to.  It combines two of my favorite things – reading and music.  Surprisingly, this challenge is a lot more difficult than I thought initially.  But, I got through it.   Some of the picks are more silly than appropriate and others are at least semi-appropriate.  It was fun!

So, without further ado, the list (and note the “by” for the song is based on the singer not the writer of the song):

  1. Book: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery.  Song: You’ll Always Be My Best Friend by Relient K.  I loved this book growing up.  Actually, I just love L.M. Montgomery.  I have read just about everything she has published.  And did a paper on how her books compare and contrast with her life.  I chose the song because it talks about friendship and the Anne books are ones that show friendships of all kinds!
  2. Book: Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom.  Song: Ooh La La by Rod Stewart (better known as I wish I knew what I know now).  The book is a beautiful story of a teacher-student relationship, the dying process and the sharing of knowledge.  I chose the song because Morrie is passing on all that he has learned in his “final course.”  He teaches Mitch lessons about life that would help him in his younger years.
  3. Book: The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  Song (it’s a toss-up): Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol or Two Sparrows in a Hurricane by Trisha Yearwood.  First of all, this book crushes my soul.  Anything with people with dementia does.  I can’t become a Geriatrician.  I would just be too sad.  But I love the book despite the epic volume of tears that it induced.  Anyway, I chose the Chasing Cars song because of the chorus “If I lay here, would you lay with me and just forget the world.”  The story is based around an older gentleman telling his now profoundly demented lover about how they met and wooing her all over again.  I picture him talking to her while she lays in bed oblivious and the song just fits.  The other song is a bit of an older pick, but I chose it because they are a couple that has been through, well, a lot and are still together (sort of) through it all.
  4. Book: The House of God by Samuel Shem.  Song: Bad Medicine by Bon Jovi.  This book is a satire about life as an intern in a hospital.  Unfortunately or fortunately, it is disturbingly close to how real life is or can seem (Gomers fall down and gomers don’t die).  When I read the book I was in the middle of internal medicine.  Eep.  Needless to say whenever I think of Internal Medicine, I think of the song Bad Medicine.  And in this song, some of the medicine they practice is definitely not good, so it fits.
  5. Book: Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.  Song: Friends, Lovers or Nothing by John Mayer.  You know about the love triangles, the strange friendships and the craziness that is Wuthering Heights.  This song title alone basically overarches the principle of the book.
  6. Book: The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  Song: The Scientist by Coldplay.  I feel like the song fits the mood of the book overall.  The song talks about leaving and going back to the beginning.  Fits the time travel theme.
  7. Book: The Tin Flute by Gabrielle Roy.  Song: Don’t Look Back by She & Him.  This book is about the working class families during the Second World War, particularly a young woman trying to make her way up in the world.  I feel like this song fits some of her perspective as she tries to make her way along.
  8. Book: Room by Emma Donoghue.  Song: Keep You Safe by JJ Heller.  This book shows from a child’s perspective the love and protection of his mother during a time where they were both held captive and at a time when they had to learn how to live in a very different outside world again.  This song is about protection and love, much like that depicted in the book.
  9. Book: The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer.  Song: Vampire by Antsy Pants.  I really enjoyed the Twilight books, they are well written and a great read.  This song borders on annoying and repetitive.  But I like both of them in their own ways.  The song sings about a vampire who lost his fangs.  Ummm… The Twilight vampires don’t have fangs.  So, it works.
  10. Book: Hockey Stories by Don Cherry.  Song:  Me Like Hockey by the Arrogant Worms.  I really enjoy how Don Cherry tells stories the way he would speak and the behind the scenes look at the professional hockey world.  This song could go with any book about the world of hockey.  Because it is that great.

Do you have any theme songs in mind for any books you have read recently?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Would Give A Theme Song To

Please, share your thoughts!

