Food and flannel

The other night we were hanging out with friends and Patrick re-iterated what he truly believes are the ways to my heart… Food and flannel.

Sounds ridiculous, no?  But honestly, there is a good bit of truth to this.

I have to feel fabrics before I buy them.  I seriously manhandle them in the store.  There are some I just can’t handle.  Sensory issues.  I only like fleece and flannel and jersey cotton to sleep in.  Yes, first world problems for sure.

As I have said here a million times… I love food!  And I love to cook, especially when I get off work with time to make a decent meal and we have the ingredients in the house.  In the past week, I have had a chance to make a few concoctions thanks to the beauty of a radiology rotation with no call and where I see images of all kinds of things that would impair people’s eating abilities.  I guess seeing people’s insides that cause them to not eat makes me more grateful for my eating abilities.  At least that is how I will rationalize it.

So, a few recipes…

Whole Wheat Tea Biscuits

This is a pretty traditional recipe… Except as usual, we only have whole wheat flour, so everything ends up with a bit of distinct whole wheaty twang.  Not always optimal.  So, I added some extra milk and butter to these to minimize dryness.  It seemed to work.

2 cups whole wheat flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
½ cup butter
¾ cup milk
¼ teaspoon salt
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. 
  • Combine the dry ingredients and butter and mix until it is a crumb mixture.  Then, add the milk and mix until the dough is moist and soft.
  • Roll the dough out to approximately 1 inch (2.5cm) thickness and cut out circles (I did this by hand for a diameter of about 5cm.
  • Allow to set for 5 minutes prior to baking.
  • Bake for 12-15 minutes.

Eggplant appetizers

I have developed a new found love for eggplant.  This is one of my favorite eggplant based recipes.

Two to three chopped tomatoes
1 large eggplant, peeled and cut into 1-2cm thick slices
Olive oil
Grated cheddar or mozzarella cheese
Oregano
  • Preheat the oven for 450 degrees.
  • Pre-soak the eggplant slices in cold salt water for at least ½ hour prior to cooking.  Drain and dry the eggplant.
  • Brush the surfaces of the eggplant with olive oil.
  • Place chopped tomatoes on each slice of eggplant and sprinkle with cheese and oregano.
  • Bake on a well greased baking sheet or broiler pan for 20 minutes.
  • Serve immediately.

Avocado-salmon sandwich

This is not a profound recipe by any means, but it made me happy.  We had leftover smoked salmon from the night before, so it needed to be eaten and I had read previously that avocado is great on toast, so why not combine them.

The recipe is simply toast with one side covered in sliced avocado and then the smoked salmon.   It was amazingly good.  I may try to make something similar on baguettes for a potluck sometime.

Please, share your thoughts!

