Top Ten Books To Read In A Day

On a very busy day of ACLS training (advanced cardiac life support), it seems appropriate to do this week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. The topic this week… Top ten books to read in a day.

Though ACLS is intriguing, it brings me back to the hooky list last week and the fact that I really would love to read all day. So, the top ten books that could be read in a day are delightful. It makes me think of both books that I could potentially read in a day and books that I have read in a day. I am going with the top ten books that can be and were read in a day… And that I would consider reading in a day again…

  1. Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom. One of my favorite books of all time. Short, but well written and contains all of the elements of a good book and more.
  2. Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom. Yes… I am a Mitch Albom fan. This book is probably my second favorite by him. I love the intertwining of two stories and three lives. It is a great description of the impact people can have on one another, the perspectives of faith and how two seemingly different people can have so much in common.
  3. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. This book broke my heart a million times over. And yet it was so good. I consumed this at a ridiculous rate on my last day on an elective in Halifax. It doesn’t even feel like you were reading that long.
  4. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I know, who reads a classic like this in a day? Well, I apparently do. This one was read in entirety when traveling back home after my summer program in the Netherlands. It was so good. And I didn’t have anything else to do. Needless to say this is one of my favorite classics. And it was actually made into a decent movie. Overall impressive.
  5. House Rules by Jodi Picoult. If you have read this blog before, you know that I love Jodi Picoult and how her books are well researched (generally) and how they are about hot button issues that really make you think. This one is no exception. It is about a family with a son with autism spectrum disorder in which the son is accused of murder and the dynamics that go along with that. Such a good read.
  6. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. Another very good book (except for the protagonist’s hatred of the color orange). This book is written from the perspective of a young man with autism spectrum and is fabulous, at least from what I can tell.
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling. I read all of the books… In order. But I somehow fell off the bandwagon for the last book. I don’t know why. There is no real defense of this. But, we went to see the movie at the drive-in on opening night with Patrick’s ENTIRE family. And I then remembered I was lacking the book… I almost didn’t want to watch because I hate seeing movies before reading the book. But, I saw the movie. Then, promptly read the entire book the following weekend. In a day.
  8. Six Months to Live by Lurlene McDaniel. I was thinking about books I read in a day and I remembered my favorite author when I was a “tween.” Her name was Lurlene McDaniel and she wrote mainly about cancer and other chronic illness in teens. And I loved her books. Six Months to Live and the other few books in this particular series followed a young girl, Dawn, from diagnosis with very serious leukemia into her college years. I now want to reread all of these and check out some of her newer stuff.
  9. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. As I said last week, I read this in one sitting accidently. But, it is one of those books that just suck you in and make you read it from cover to cover.
  10. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank. I have read this on a few occasions. I am fascinated by true stories and this one is no exception. First of all, it is amazing what this young woman went through and how she wrote of it. Second of all, the history behind all of this and how the personal human side is portrayed is amazing.

Well, there you have it. A few of the books I have read in a day. And would like to read again… In a day.

What books have you read in a day?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Books To Read In A Day

  1. You have some wonderful books on your list: I love To kill a mockingbird, Anne Frank, Tuesdays with Morrie, HP, and The Notebook. I am not familiar with the others though.

  2. i couldn’t read them in one day, but absolutely loved reading all the James Michener books, and Anya Seton novels. long long books, but so well written!

    • I can’t say I have read either of those author’s books. But, now I need to check them out. I find the long ones the best most of the time, even if they can’t be read all in one day!

Please, share your thoughts!

