Being carnivorous

I am not an especially carnivorous person.  I have no reason for this.  I don’t really stand for anything that prevents me to eat met.  I don’t have any religious restrictions.  I just am not big on the texture of some meats, especially red meat and pork.

I eat vegetarian often.  Because it is healthy and because I like it.  And because I often forget to defrost meat until I am about to cook.

When I was a teen, I tried  to be a vegetarian.  I was pretty good at it.  I spent a whole summer at camp eating vegetarian.  But, my parents are ridiculously carnivorous, so it didn’t really fly at home.  My family is definitely that of the meat and potatoes variety.  There is nothing wrong with that.  I now like meat and potatoes for the occasional treat.  It tastes like home.

The other reason I failed to be a vegetarian is that I really like bacon.  I can eat it on or with just about anything.  Disgusting or amazing, I am not sure.

My carnivorous parents prepared me for my carnivorous husband.

Patrick loves meat.  He does embrace my veggie streak and will eat a couple meat-free meals before he either suggests going out or him cooking or asking where the meat is.  He gets it is healthy and he doesn’t hate veggies (at least not all of them).

As a result, I have learned to cook a few red meat-y dishes (that aren’t burgers or tacos or spaghetti or something that comes from a mix on a box or can)  And by a few, I mean that I have perfected one and experiment ruthlessly otherwise.

Ginger Beef

1 steak, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 tablespoon cooking oil
2-3 tablespoons of minced ginger
1-2 tablespoons of minced garlic
3 tablespoons soya sauce
1 green/red/yellow/orange pepper – chopped
6-8 mushrooms – sliced
1 red onion – chopped
1 chopped celery stick
Two heads of broccoli – broken apart into bite sized pieces
½ cup hot water
1 beef broullion cube
  • Heat the oil and a large frying pan over medium-high heat.  When oil is about to smoke add the ginger, garlic, soya sauce and steak.  Stir fry until steak is cooked.
  • Add the peppers, mushrooms, onion and celery and stir fry for 2 minutes.  Then, add the broccoli and stir fry for another 2 minutes.
  • Mix in the hot water and broullion cube.  Decrease the heat to low and cook for 5-10 minutes stirring occasionally.
  • Serve over rice or noodles.
6 thoughts on “Being carnivorous

Please, share your thoughts!

