Top Ten Books I Would Like To See Made Into Movies

I recently went to see yet another book made into movie – The Hunger Games.  And, despite the hype and my absolute enjoyment of the book, I did quite like the movie.  I find that this does not always happen with books gone movie.  They always seem to miss something.  And thus why I almost always want to read the book first where possible.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday from the Broke and the Bookish is the Top Ten Books to be Made into Movies.  Although I often get aggravated by books made into movies, I must say this is a great concept.  And often I do want to see the movie as a result of the book.

  1. The Dawn Rochelle Series by Lurlene McDaniel.  This is a series of books I loved as a tween that followed the life of a young girl diagnosed with leukemia and following her through to college.  I think it would make a fabulous movie… Lots of teen angst, some humor and plenty of drama brought about by the effects of illness on a family.
  2. Book cover The Curious Incident of the Dog in ...The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.  The mix of mystery and the fascinating perspective from the view of a boy with autism would make for an intriguing movie.
  3. Mountains Beyond Mountains: The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, A Man Who Would Cure the World by Tracy Kidder.  This is a non-fiction work that I think could definitely swing movie status.  There is enough action to keep movie people going and enough truth that it would be useful to educate and motivate the masses.
  4. Room by Emma Donoghue.  This would be a sad sort of movie, but again I do believe it would work, perhaps as a story of human triumph.  They could even try to maintain the childlike narration and perspective with some of the shots.
  5. My Life As An Experiment by A.J. Jacobs.  Another non-fiction book… This author basically spent each month of the year doing some other sort of human experiment on himself – radical honesty, outsourcing his work, etcetera.  It made for an entertaining read and could be molded into some sort of movie for as well.
  6. Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery.  Yes, this was a TV series, but no, it was not a movie.  At least not that I found in my quick research. As a TV series, it was okay but, obviously wandered from the book.  Thus, I think it would make a lovely movie.
  7. Cover of "The Glass Castle"

    Cover of The Glass Castle

    The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.  This book was a memoir about the author’s life growing up and it is so unbelievable at times that it just has to be true.  She makes her life sound like some sort of adventure that would make for a great movie.

  8. The Wave by Todd Strasser.  I read this book in grade 9 English and loved it.  It was basically about a high school social experiment gone wrong when a teacher tried to teach his students about Nazi Germany.  It was a riveting read, so it would make for a riveting movie.
  9. The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner.  I couldn’t find a legit movie in the works.  Who doesn’t love children fighting crime and the unknown?  And they live on a train!  Pretty much awesome!
  10. This last one combines few other mentions that are in the works or that I legitimately did not know existed in movie form, so I thought they were kind of cop-outs… Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, Sweet Valley High by Francine Pascal,  and The BFG by Roald Dahl.

So, that sums up my book to movie picks.  This was actually harder than I thought it would be.

What are some books you think should be made into movies?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Would Like To See Made Into Movies

  1. The Boxcar Children! Why did I never think of that? I loved those books as a kid.

    Emily of New Moon is a beautiful story, and could make a fascinating, artsy film. The sequels might actually work better as movies than they did as books (yeah, I know, utter heresy–I’m usually a read-the-book-first-it’s-always-better person, too), though I’m sure they’d be an immense challenge to adapt. I’d see them, anyway. 🙂

    • The sequels were definitely not as good as the original, but it is true, they have potential to be good movies.
      I don’t even know why the Boxcar Children came to mind today… I think because I first thought Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys and they seem to be part of the natural progression.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I totally want to see the first Boxcar Children book turned into a movie… I always loved that they had found the boxcar and they managed to live without adults (initially anyways). Oh, it would be darling!

  3. You thought of a lot that I didn’t!
    I almost chose A Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs. His writing style is so funny, I can picture some scenes being absolutely hilarious.
    The Glass Castle would be so interesting. I can picture that first scene with her mom digging in the dumpster…
    Why didn’t I think of The Boxcar Children? And, more importantly, why has that NOT been made into a movie? I think I re-read the first one of that series 17 times when I was a kid.

    • I almost chose A Year of Living Biblically too…. But, I settled on the experiment one.
      The dumpster scene would be cool! I think it would be interesting to see some of the father’s inventions and ideas on screen too.
      I know, the Boxcar Children should have been a movie years ago.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Would Like To See As A Movie or TV Show | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

