Fresh bread and soup

With my time off, I have been trying to be all housewifeish and making supper and keeping the apartment clean.  Not that I don’t do that regularly, but I feel like I actually have time to do a better job, which is quite exciting.

So, one day last week, I was downtown running other errands and decided to pick up some fresh bread at a bakery.  Fresh bread is fairly epic to me, as it is just like my childhood when my grandfather would always pick up “fresh bread” at the grocery store every day.  And call it “fresh bread.”  This happened to the point that I spent many years believing that “fresh bread” was indeed a type of bread of its own.

I needed something to go with the bread and decided to make a homemade lentil soup… Something I am certain I never had in my childhood.

3 tablespoons olive oil
2 onions, chopped
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chopped carrots
2 chopped garlic cloves
4 cups vegetable broth
1 1/4 cups lentils
1 can diced tomatoes in juice
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.
  • Add onions, celery, carrots and garlic and sauté until starting to brown.
  • Add the vegetable broth, lentils and tomatoes and bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 30-40 minutes.
  • Transfer 2 cups of the solid to a blender and puree, then add it back to the soup mixture.
  • Add the balsamic vinegar.
  • Serve.
Please, share your thoughts!

