When I grow up…

Just four short years ago, our class posed for a picture and had water dumped on us. My, how we have grown.

Today marks the start of my graduation week festivities and my parents come today!

So, we are cleaning the house so that it is semi presentable (minus the boxes and heaps)… Well, Patrick is cleaning the house mostly because I caught a lovely European chest cold and am hacking up my lungs.

Tonight is the first event of what is a marathon of graduation events… It is a class-only party themed “what I wanted to be when I grew up in elementary school.”  We are giving out joke awards and just spending some time together.

The whole theme made me think back to when I was in elementary school.  I was never really one to want to be a doctor.  I considered being a nurse because my Aunt was a nurse.  I considered being a vet before that… But my allergies kind of nixed that in the butt (well, that and telling a 5 year old that you would smell like horse and thus have to shower every day was a deterrent as well).  Through most of elementary school I wanted to be a librarian/teacher/writer.

Thus, I am going to go as a librarian.

I already have the perfect glasses for it and overall, it is a pretty easy costume to assemble.

It is interesting how your interests and wants change over time.  There are people in my class who still wanted to be doctors when they were kids.  Others wanted to be something much cooler, like astronauts.

I think I would still be a librarian if I had to choose another career outside of the medical profession.  That or an engineer.  I know, opposite ends of the spectrum.

Little things on my path got me into medicine.  It wasn’t like I dreamed of it.  Or that I knew medical students.  Or really had any desire to be near sick people for most of my life.  I liked books and science.  And then I went into Nuc Med.  And then medicine.

If I went back in time and met my elementary school self, I would think I would think it cool that I am a doctor.  But, I think it would be a bit of a surprise.  Heck, if I went back to my high school self, I would keel to find out I am married and becoming a doctor.  Not in the plan.  Nope, nope, nope.

That is the strange part of life.  We end up in places we never expect.  And it is often okay that we do.

That is why the concept of a “what I wanted to be when I grew up” seems so fun, I suppose.

What did you want to be when you grew up?  Was it different from what you wound up doing?

4 thoughts on “When I grow up…

  1. I wanted to be a pediatric neurologist or an environmentalist. There was also a brief flirtation with computer something-or-other. But that’s all early high school; can’t remember as far back as elementary/prep school.

    Now? I’m a lawyer. Ha.

  2. I wanted to be a pediatric neurologist or an environmentalist. There was also a brief flirtation with computer something-or-other. But that’s all early high school; can’t remember as far back as elementary/prep school.

    Now? I’m a lawyer. Ha. 🙂

    • I think the whole law/environmental issues thing works.
      Interesting choices! I too had a brief flirtation with something computer related too. I think at one time or another most people did.
      Pediatric neurology? Interesting other option.

Please, share your thoughts!

