The Top Ten Read-Alikes for Something Borrowed

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday from the fine folks at the Broke and the Bookish is one that I think I struggle with.  The theme is the top ten books for people who liked book X.  I have a difficult time picking up on readalikes, unless, of course you count the fact that all Nicholas Sparks books are the same.  I like a pretty distinct variety of books and I guess I just don’t spend enough time comparing them with one another.  Also, I am pretty sure we did a similar challenge just a few weeks ago…

I am currently reading Something Borrowed by Emily Griffin.  And, embarrassingly enough, I am loving it.  I am not generally one to get caught up in love affairs and drama… But when I think about it, I have read a number of books with a similar feel.  So, I suppose I shouldn’t be embarrassed.  And thus my list for today… The top ten books for people who liked Something Borrowed by Emily Griffin.

  1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.  I know many people have read one and not the other, but when you get down to it, they are kind of similar.  Twisted intertwined love story.  Times of self actualization (or, well, attempts).  It works, at least in my head.
  2. Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Picoult.  This is another side to a love story and the impact of people’s decisions on life.  In Harvesting the Heart, the characters learn to cope with family history and change and how persistence in a relationship can change things.  It is a stretch, but I got similar vibes.
  3. Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger.  This beast keeps appearing on my lists… It is not a beast, but a lovely light book about working for a PR firm and  again, about life choices and being in New York.  It was a light read, but one that kept me just as enthralled as Something Borrowed seems to be.
  4. Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer.  Another set of books I am somewhat embarrassed to have read.  Face it, love triangles, drama, adventure and a touch of angst… Don’t forget the vampires and werewolves… Okay, they don’t really relate.  But, the whole love story, getting sucked in without meaning to thing really draws the two together.
  5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.  Those Bronte sisters sure knew how to write a good love story.  Here we have yet another love and growth sort of story with just enough angst to keep you wanting more.
  6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  It is a stretch, but again we have some unrequited love, requited love and a good background story.  Same sort of drama (okay, not quite), same sort of sucked in feel.
  7. Don’t Die, My Love by Lurlene McDaniel.  It is just as sad as it sounds.  Boy meets girl.  Boy gets sick.  Book about said journey.  Sucks you in every time.  More depressing than Something Borrowed and yet on a purer sense, more happy.
  8. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  Or any other Nicholas Sparks book.  Romance, the strange suck you in sort of plot phenomenon.  They are readalikes, therefore, they all read similarly to this book.
  9. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot.  Coming of age, self discovery and a bit of love all wrapped into a plot that is semi-unbelievable and yet strangely intriguing.
  10. Forever by Judy Blume. Pretty similar to Something Borrowed, except in that it is 30s angst as opposed to teen angst and that the kids in the book were dating eachother, not other people.  And that I read it when I was about 10.  Whoops.

Well, there you have it.  My haphazard list of readalikes to a book I have yet to finished and am somewhat hesitant to confess I am loving.

Do you have any readalikes for Something Borrowed?  Do you have any books you are loathe to admit you love?

5 thoughts on “The Top Ten Read-Alikes for Something Borrowed

  1. I haven’t read Something Borrowed, but my sister’s bookclub did and they all loved it. I might have to check out some of the ones on your list.

    I’m not good at these type of topics either, so I cheated this week. I hope you check out my TTT anyway.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    • It is strangely good. I have had it recommended to me a million times and am only now getting around to it. The rest of the books are pretty good, though!

  2. Pingback: Book Review – A Walk to Remember « Asha's Blog

Please, share your thoughts!

