Lessons in flexibility… Surprise fail.

So, today was one of those days where your attempts to be wonderful and romantic go down the tubes.

I am on call from today until Monday morning and spent the afternoon roasting in the office only to have to finish an admission just when I normally would have left for the day.  But, conveniently, one of the other residents was just leaving when I returned to the office.  So, I thought I would get a ride with her and get home a bit earlier than I usually do on call days to surprise Patrick.  I didn’t call or text because I thought that would ruin the surprise.

I get home and find Patrick sitting on the floor in the dining room surrounded in bits of what looked like BBQ.  Instead of being pleasantly surprised, Patrick was upset I came home without telling him.  Because he wanted to surprise me with the BBQ.

I of course then got upset because he was upset and was less than thrilled about the bits of BBQ in our dining room.

Eventually, we apologized to one another because of our failure to surprise rage.

It is funny that when you get an idea in our head, you sometimes get more thrown off when it doesn’t work as planned.

I don’t know about all of you, but I tend to have a bit of a one track stubborn mind about some things, and when they don’t go according to plan, I get freaked out.  I shouldn’t.  I really need to grow past that.  But, it takes a lot of work.

Working in the hospital, this happens a lot.  I plan to get lunch, I get paged to see a very sick patient.  I plan to finish my contouring and my computer blows up… Again.  I plan to get all of the paperwork done, so everything will be done before the weekend, but the one person I needed to get back to me does not.

I think this is how it works in most places in the real world.  Things just don’t always go according to plan.  And sometimes the plan deviations are actually good things… Like good scan results.  Or my husband surprising me with a new haircut (he doesn’t look disheveled anymore) and a BBQ (it will be really awesome when it stops covering our dining room floor).

Flexibility is not one of my strong points.  I pretend it is at work, but it isn’t.  I am the opposite of flexible.  I am regimented.

The thing is, flexibility is important.  God is flexible.  He has all the time in the world and He waits for us.  He lets us make our own decisions.  He forgives us when we screw up again and again.

I have noticed that when I am flexible, things are better.  I feel less distraught, I appreciate things more and really, I get more things done (because it is far more efficient to take things as they come than complain about them).

This weekend, I am on call.  Call throws off my routine, it alters plans.  But, it is important to many people that you are there.  I appreciate the value in what I do.  And need to do it to the best of my ability.   Some of those happening to be in the right place at the right time moments are the most valuable in patient care.

The same goes for my marriage and other relationships.  It is good to be flexible on some things.  It makes life easier and often, quite worthwhile.  Some of the best things happen when I am flexible.  Surprise adventures, good conversations… You name it, good things can happen when you take things as they come.

For instance, I will hopefully get to enjoy the awesomeness of surprise BBQ on the deck tomorrow.  WIN!

4 thoughts on “Lessons in flexibility… Surprise fail.

  1. 😀 Good food for thought! I’m less than organised; but I often make expectations of things, people, myself and God that lock me into an inflexible position and just causes silly upsets. Gotta stretch my mind a little and become more flexible 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • I am glad I am not the only one that gets fixed in a spot that leads to silly upsets. I hope you grow in flexibility, I think it is tough to do, but well worth it!

  2. Just shared this with my MSIII fiance–we can relate about getting disappointed when something doesn’t go according to plan. I got all dressed up to surprise him one night. He ended up going to help his friend with a flat tire. It took a little longer than expected and by the time we were able to see each other, I’d washed off my makeup (that I don’t wear often) and put on my pajamas. Aiy, but life happens and we move on and know that there were good intentions.

Please, share your thoughts!

