Top Ten Characters I Would Switch Places With For A Day

I think when most people were kids they wanted to pretend they were someone else from time to time.  I sure did.  Some of my favourites included Ariel from The Little Mermaid and Penny from Inspector Gadget.

The funny part is that even now, I still sometimes would like to give being another person a shot.  Even if it was just for a little while.  Curiosity, you know.  It would be neat to experience something different as anther person.  Even though I am so perfectly happy with my life.

That brings me to this week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish — the top ten characters I would switch places with for 24 hours.  A day isn’t very long and there are so many people to choose From.  I guess that is what makes things interesting.

  1. Image via schoollibraryjournal.com.

    Maltilda in Road Dahl’s Matilda.  How fun would it be to be a kid with all kinds of interesting brain power and such delightful friends?  Okay, her parents were a bit questionable, but still…

  2. Laura Ingalls in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairies.  I would definitely pick one of the happier, possibly festival times,but I find the time period so intriguing I think it would be worth atouch of time travel.
  3. Alice in Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series.  I know this is a little sick, but I do think being all vampire like would be fun.  But only in the Twilight vampire version… Sparkling in the sun, never sleeping, moving quickly, all that good stuff.  It would be a good time.  Plus, I could then knock some sense into Bella and Edward and Jacob and all of the other foolishness that goes down around me.
  4. Hermione Granger from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series.  I think being magical would be fun. And I like school, which takes up a lot of their time in the wizarding world.   And I like her character, so if I had to switch with someone, I might as well choose her.
  5. Lena Kaligaris from Ann Brashares’s The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series.  I know, she is from the same world I am.  But, when shegoes to visit her family and have all of those adventures, she isquite different.  Plus, maybe if I visited her world, I could have herwardrobe and possibly her artistic ability… That would be fun.
  6. Mia Thermopolis from Meg Cabot’s Princess Diaries.  I would never want to actually be royalty, but I do think it would be fun to learn to be royalty for a day.
  7. Lucy Pevensie from C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia series.  Narnia sounds like a wonderful place to visit and Lucy gets to go there often.  Plus, she sounds like an all around lovely girl to be.
  8. Nancy Drew from Carolyne Keane’s Nancy Drew series.  I loved her as a kid.  I still think she is pretty cool now.  I mean, she has the guy, the friends and she solves mysteries like its nobody’s business.
  9. Image from pbs.org.

    Emily Elizabeth in Norman Bridwell’s Clifford the Big Red Dog series.  The only pet I have ever had were fish.  Clifford to me sounded likethe best pet in the world.  Especially because he was giant andcoloured and unnatural shade of red.  If I could be Emily Elizabeth,then Clifford would be mine (*cackles*)!

  10. Elizabeth from Johann David Wyss’s Swiss Family Robinson. She is like super mom.  Taking care of the kids and the husband after they get shipwrecked.  She makes it look easy and adventurous.  Really, I just want to live on a beautiful island with a lovely family, weird pets and in a tree house.

So, there you have it.  Ten book characters I would trade places with for 24 hours for a variety of reasons (some more reasonable than others).  There are plenty of other awesome characters with awesome worlds to trade with… And some who are awesome, but you couldn’t pay me to go to their world (think the Mom in Room and Katniss in the Hunger Games).

What about you?  What book characters would you want to trade places with for 24 hours if you could?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters I Would Switch Places With For A Day

Please, share your thoughts!

