Grown up butter chicken

Today was one of those “grown up” moments for me.  And brace yourself… It was lame.

We had my parents to our apartment for supper.

I know, big whoop.

But, it was nice for a change.  You see, we have always lived too far to have our families over for a meal.  If they were over for a meal, they were visiting with us and often we were too busy doing all of the touristy sorts of things to actually make a nice meal.  And when we have been home in the past, we have stayed with my parents, so despite making dinner, it wasn’t very hostessey (not a real word, I know).

I was on academic half day (aka afternoon reserved for studying and lectures) and so I had time to make a nice meal… To the background of a webinar on normal tissue responses to radiation doses.

I made butter chicken (complete with pre-making tandoori chicken to go in the butter chicken sauce).  So, I had everything marinaded and such before I realized my epic fail.  The apartment we are staying in lacks a blender.  Or even beaters.  So, I had to call Mom to borrow her hand blender.  Which set back my otherwise potentially on-time meal.

Our apartment reeked of spices and was excessively hot and humid (bad idea making complicated food in hot summer weather), but somehow it all came together.  Yes, I blew up tomato puree all over the kitchen.  And yes, I threw and ice cube on the floor, only to slip on it later, but the food was prepared and we ate.

As I already said, I made butter chicken from scratch (none of this canned garbage) and cumin and cinnamon scented rice with salad and bread.  Everyone ate it.  I was a bit nervous because my parents have never eaten Indian and I didn’t know how that would go, though I anticipated that the less spicy and more sweet and creamy butter chicken was a safe bet.  It also helped that I restrained my urge to put chillies in the sauce… The spouse and the parents were the cause for that restraint.  Patrick was surprised I had that much restraint, as I usually slip a few in when it is just him.

Everyone ate.  Everyone was happy.  And hot.  But happy.

Butter chicken leftovers in awesome tupperware!

Bonus… There are leftovers.  I have lunch tomorrow (and if I am really lucky, I will even get time to eat it).

I suppose this means we will have more dinner guests again in the near future.  Fortunately I love cooking and I quite like my parents.  And Patrick’s.  I suppose they are next.

Butter Chicken

4 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon minced ginger
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground teumeric
5 cardamom pods
½ cup Greek plain yoghurt
4 cubed chicken breasts
  • Mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl, cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. 
  • Place chicken in a roasting pan with a lid and bake at 450 degrees for 20-30minutes.
1 can chopped tomatoes.
2 diced tomatoes, diced.
¼ tsp chillies (optional)
1 tablespoon minced ginger
45 mL butter
1 onion, thinly sliced
2 tsp ground cumin
300mL cream
2 tsp garam masala
1 tsp ground coriander
  • Combine the canned and fresh tomatoes, chillies and ginger and blend until liquid.  Meanwhile, heat butter until melted and add onions, stirring until soft.  Add cumin and continue to cook for another minute.
  • Mix in the tomato mixture with the onions and butter.  Cook on medium heat until it begins to boil.
  • Reduce heat to low and add cream.  Simmer for 10-15 minutes. 
  • Add chicken, garam masala and coriander and continue to simmer for another 5 minutes. 
  • Serve with rice.
5 thoughts on “Grown up butter chicken

  1. Hehehe sounds like quite a dinner 🙂 Thanks for posting the recipe; I am going to try it!!! Theoretically some time soon…I hope :p I like how you said “maybe I’ll even get to eat lunch”. 🙂 I hope you do; I see way too many med people starving during work/study/day hours =.= c’est la vie!

Please, share your thoughts!

