Top Ten (er… 8) Romances I Think Would Last Outside the Book

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is something that I might argue I would generally not be the sort of thing I am in to.  But, I have come to realize that I am much more of a sap now than I was a few years ago and I have read a number of books that needed to be taken into consideration.  And I do like the hint of realism.

The top ten romances I think would last outside the book is the topic of choice.  Now, I often pick out flaws in books… So, in a way, this works because these are the ones that I think would work in the real world, despite the book/imagination related manipulation.

  1. Anne and Gilbert from Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery.  They are actually realistic and are based on a bunch of interactions over many years.  This helps me to see them as real.  Especially given their early years hatred.
  2. Ron and Hermione from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series.  They went through a lot of stuff in the wizarding world and despite it all, somehow stuck it out.   I liked the way their relationship developed as they aged.  It worked.
  3. James and Lily Potter from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series.  They worked.  Or at least it sounds like they did.  And they were sufficiently in sync to give up their lives for their son.  Pretty good people.
  4. Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  They overcame a lot to get to the point where their relationship was at the end of the book.  I think that is similar to real life.
  5. Noah and Allie from The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  The fact that he still plugs away and visits her daily in the nursing home makes their relationship a win, even if she doesn’t remember him.  Reminds me of my own grandparents.
  6. Ethan and Darcy in Emily Griffin’s Something Blue.  I was never a big Darcy fan, but they are so different and grew so much together that I think it would work.  Opposites attract, after all.  And people who grow together stay together.
  7. Katniss and Gale in Suzanne Collin’s Hunger Games series.  I am saddened to say this because I am an epic Peeta fan.  But, if it was our world and such, then Peeta wouldn’t have had the jumping board to get their relationship o the go.  And Gale would have just been able to plug along at status quo and likely get the girl who he had the whole time.  I like how it really ended… I just think it would have gone the other way if it was completely real life with no weird Capitol phenomena intervening.
  8. Henry and Clare in Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveller’s Wife.  I have mixed feelings about this one too.  I love that they were friends and that they had a very realistic relationship that endured a lot.  I do, however, question how they would find each other were it not for Henry knowing Clare since childhood.

Seriously… I am all out.  I can think of a few relationships that wouldn’t work in the real world… Like Edward and Bella in Twilight…  Or the lovely duo in Wuthering Heights.  Because the whole thing is a little unhealthy.

Any additional fiction romances that have the potential to survive or not survive in real life?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten (er… 8) Romances I Think Would Last Outside the Book

  1. I see your point about Katniss and Gale (though I had Peeta on my list). If there were no Hunger Games, Katniss and Gale would have probably gotten together eventually. Peeta seemed to shy around Katniss at home to make a move.

    • They were a last minute add in for me when I was trying to think of a few more to top off the list. I never did get to ten, but I did wind up thinking of them!

Please, share your thoughts!

