Top Ten Books On My Fall To Be Read List

Yesterday, I wrote about Labour Day weekend kind of being the start to Fall.  The kids (and Patrick) go back to school (work) tomorrow.  Fall doesn’t start for real for another few weeks, but the leaves are starting to change (yay) and the weather is slowly getting cooler (we may need to start closing the windows at night soon.

Needless to say, the shift in seasons means it is time for the seemingly traditional the Broke and the Bookish Top Ten Tuesday the top ten books on my insert season here to be read list.  This time, it is Fall.  So, here we go… The Fall TBR list… Suspicious similarities to my summer TBR list.  Most of the items on the list live either on my shelf currently or on the shelf of the Child (aka, my favorite book exchange library).

  1. The last half of the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I am about half way through and  I managed to acquire the entire series from my lovely friend L, who just happened to have them on a shelf in her childhood bedroom… WIN!
  2. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skoot.  This was on my last list… And possibly the one before that as well… Guilty.  On the bright side, it is on my shelf just waiting to be picked up shortly.
  3. The Dressmaker of Khair Khanaby Gayle Tzemach Lemmon.  Patrick found this book on sale at the grocery store and thought it looked up my alley.  It does look intriguing, so it is in the line-up.
  4. The Host by Stephanie Meyer.  Despite my overwhelming urges to mock, I did enjoy reading the Twilight series, so I decided I need to read this as well.
  5. The Circle series by Ted Dekker.  I still want to read this.  I think this has made a number of lists.  But, the book is so big I need to read it when I am not galavanting all over the place.  One day I will get to it… Maybe this Fall.
  6. The Timekeeper by Mitch Albom.  I have enjoyed all of his books.  Some more than others, but nonetheless all were good.  I expect this to be good.  It will be good to have a chance to read it.
  7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.  Patrick’s Mom was reading this while we were in PEI last summer and I was intrigued, but by the time I was ready to read it, she misplaced it.  Fortunately, the library of the Child also holds this book, so I will borrow it from her.
  8. Baby Proof by Emily Giffin.  After reading one of her books, I am hooked… A little.  Whoops.  The Child was reading this on the weekend and it looked intriguing, though I think I would read any of her books right now.
  9. Not Your Parents’ Marriage by Jerome and Kellie Daley.  We acquired this book from the bargain section in a Christian bookstore while on vacation.  It looks at the change in gender roles over time, the incorporation of family into marriage and other issues in a Biblical context.  Should be interesting.
  10. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  I keep hearing about it and I know I need to read it.   Especially given it is about a cancer patient  and other big life subjects.
  11. I need to cheat and throw in a last point… I still need to read a heap of radiation oncology textbooks, namely physics books. Good times, I know.

So, there you go, my to be read list for the FallThings are getting busy, so it is questionable as to whether or not I will have a chance to read all of these in the Fall.  But, some of these books have been on the list for ages, so they may remain for a bit longer.

Are any of these books on your list?  What do you want to read this Fall?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Fall To Be Read List

  1. Pingback: A Little Bookish Post « WalkieTalkieBookClub's Blog

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Fall (2013) TBR List | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

