Top Ten Books That Make Me Think

I like to think… Sometimes.  Honestly, not always.

When it comes to reading, I go through thinking phases and not thinking phases.  I am currently in a not thinking phase.  Meaning, I like my books to be light and simple with minimal roots in real life or depressing undertones.   Though, I do love a good book that makes me think.  Normally.  I read a big stack of thinkers in the last little while, so now I am think-ed out.

However, this week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the fine folks at the Broke and Bookish is the top ten books that make you think (about life or people or whatever).   I found it difficult to keep it to ten, but I succumbed (mainly because it takes more time to type more books).

  1. Not a Fan by Ken Idleman.  I loved this book.  It seriously changed some of perspectives on Christianity and such.  I thought so much the first time, I had to read it a second time.  And then sucked my entire small group into doing a study based on the book.
  2. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak.  I think almost anything written about the World Wars can make a person think.  This is definitely one that did an especially good job right from the perspective of death to the guy in the basement to the bombings.  I was attached to the people.  It really makes you think about how life isn’t fair and how people persevere through a lot of badness.
  3. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay.  Another war book but with a modern story intertwined.  I cried the whole way through it.  And I still can’t get over it.
  4. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  I was amazed at how complex these books were.  There was the face level drama, but also the various political and social contexts and subtexts.  I feel like I need to re-read them, just to get everything out of them.  But they were so overwhelming the first time (and time sucking because I was incapable of doing anything else), I am not sure.
  5. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  The whole concept of time travel is mind boggling to me.  Especially when you add in the whole she sought him out because she had known him her whole life and such.  Patrick and I discussed and debated the finer details and what ifs for days after we both read it.
  6. The Bible.  Seriously one of the biggest thinking books of all times.  No matter how many times I read it, there is always something new.
  7. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  This book made me think because I wrote a million papers/presentations on it, but also because it has a fascinating message.
  8. Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom.  Lessons about life from a dying man.  How can one not think?
  9. Room by Emma Donoghue.  Reading this book blew my mind because it was an inside look at the horrors of abduction and the things that happen in this world we don’t talk about.
  10. The Shack by William Young.  I have heard mixed reviews on this one, but I quite liked it.  It made me think a lot about tragedy and recovery and the relationship between God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit with us and the world around us.

These are just a few of the books that have made me think on a number of different levels.  That is the good part about reading, you get to think… If you pick the right books.

What are some books that made you think?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Make Me Think

  1. I am one of the few people (I might actually know one other) who are not impressed with Tuesdays with Morrie. To be honest, I thought most of his life lessons were obvious. Worth following? Definitely. But not really worth the book.

    The Book Thief is a great choice! I would have listed it if hadn’t been so long since I read it. I don’t remember too much besides that it was amazing.

    • I liked the book more for the relationships and the overarching there can be good things in death theme. You are right, the lessons are on the obvious side, though I still liked them.
      I only read the book thief recently, so I feel like it is still etched in my brain. It was indeed amazing.

  2. I agree with Room and Shack especially! I know there are entire groups of people who hate The Shack and consider it to be blasphemous, but I loved it. Last year my dad listened to the audiobook and he loved it too. It definitely makes you reconsider your preconceived thoughts on God.

Please, share your thoughts!

