Top Ten “Older” Books I Don’t Want People To Forget

I have come to the realization throughout this whole blogging experience that I tend to read a lot of “older” books.  I enjoy a good classic and definitely don’t go seeking out the newest releases as soon as they appear on shelves (okay, I might if financially and time-wise that was feasible, but it is not).  So, when I saw that this week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish was about the top ten “older” books I don’t want people to forget about, I was pretty excited.

In order to narrow things down, I decided the books have to be at least older than me…  That would make them older, at least in my own personal context.

  1. The Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I think it is fairly apparent how much I love this series.  And that I am still in the process of re-reading it.  These books offer all kinds of good family values, adventure and just a touch of humor in a delightful historical context.
  2. The Emily of New Moon series by L.M. Montgomery.  Everyone talks about Anne and how great she is.  And I love Anne and those books.  But, the Emily books are just as well written, in a sense more mature and yet quite similar.  I think they often get overshadowed by the Anne books, though I much prefer the Emily series.
  3. The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.  I actually didn’t discover these until I was in my 20s, but I loved them.  Honestly, I read every book in the library, so I have no clue how I missed them in childhood, but I must say they are definitely worth a read, for kids and adults alike.  So many good things in these books from adventure to morals.
  4. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl.  Really, I would put into this category any book by Dahl, though I know at least Matilda was published after I was born!  These books are just so crazy and so magical you can’t help but enjoy them.  Plus, the world of Dahl is one in which kids always seem to come out on top.  Pretty neat, if I do say so myself.
  5. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  I think almost everyone and their dog read this book in school, but it is still a great one.  Not only is it an interesting read, it offers great historical context and values teaching.
  6. The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keane.  I know there are remakes that are new, but I am referring mainly to the original yellow hardcover series books.  I always thought it was amazing how she knew so much and could do so much.  I think they are adventures kids should keep having for generations.
  7. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  Although revitalized with the musical and upcoming movie, this is a book that many people find daunting.  I loved it.  There is so much history and subtext going on behind the plot.
  8. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.  It is a stereotypical old school love story.  But I liked it.  And most of what the Bronte sisters produced.  I think it is just one of those stories that needs to be passed down.
  9. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain.  This is another fun adventure type book from the past that may get overlooked with so many interesting novels out these days about worlds other than our own.
  10. Forever by Judy Blume.  I love all of her books.  It seems no matter what the age bracket, they are perfect for the target reader and you really relate to the characters.  This is one of the first “grown up” books I read when I was far too young to be reading such a book.  I think it is a great life lesson and coming of age story for generations to come.

I could go on and on.  There are so many good “older” books!

What are some of your favourite “older” books that you don’t want people to forget about?  

8 thoughts on “Top Ten “Older” Books I Don’t Want People To Forget

  1. I have an L.M. Montgomery title on my list as well – she is certainly a popular writer when people are breaking out their ‘favorite’ lists. Thanks for sharing your picks!

  2. Great list! I have Little House on my list too. I am currently reading Wilder Life by Wendy McClure and it is making me want to reread the books! Roald Dahl is a great pick too.

    • I would suggest the Emily books. They are similar to a lot of Montgomery’s other work, but there was just something about them that made them enjoyable and unique, at least in my opinion.

  3. Oh my goodness, for once I’ve actually read everything on a book list (okay, except for the last one)! I also loved the Emily books, because of how she writes and how she’s affected by the world around her. I read Les Miserables this summer. All 1222 pages. The story was glorious. I loved the charcaters and was moved by the choices they made (or were forced to make), I loved some of the context. But… most of the time I was nearly howling with frustration because I wanted to know what happened to Cosette and Victor Hugo wanted to spend 100 pages on the Battle of Waterloo. GET ON WITH IT ALREADY! But I did love the story, very much, and I’m super excited for the movie!

    • I am glad you read everything on the list, for the most part. I am not surprised you liked the Emily books too!
      Les Mis is great, though I agree sometimes a bit heavy on the battle side. So excited for the movie. So excited!

Please, share your thoughts!

