Top Ten Authors For Children’s Books

For the first time in months, I missed writing a blog post and/or having one prepared.  I was on surgery call last night.  The hospital ate me.  But, on the bright side, I made it out of the hospital alive… And left the people I was taking care of alive too.  Big win.

On another more relevant and fun note, it is Top Ten Tuesday time with the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s list is my top ten favourite authors from genre x.  I am a touch on the eccentric side.  I like a bit of this and that and I don’t think I can pick a particular genre, at least not one I can fully narrow down. 

Then, I started watching the documentary about the puppeteer who is Elmo and I decided children’s books are a genre. And I am sleep deprived and could use a bit of fun.  So, I am going with that.  Remembering children’s books is always a good time.

  1. Dr. Seuss.  Silly books that rhyme.  Very fun for all ages.
  2. Robert Munsch.  I am always tempted to buy a collection of his books when I am at Indigo.  One day when I have a kid, we will have all of them.  Possibly more for me than for the child.
  3. Roald Dahl.  This is an obvious one.  His books have so much imagination and humor to them they are still worth reading as an adult.
  4. Judy Blume.  An excellent author for all ages, her books literally span appropriateness for a variety of age groups and are always great for a laugh or a cry.
  5. Ann M. Martin.  The writer of the Babysitters Club series and all of the respective spin-offs.  It is rare to find a girl who hasn’t read these books and hopefully it stays that way.
  6. R.L. Stein.  Another author that gets kids reading, I was pleased to see my 10 year old cousin still enjoying these books.
  7. Laura Ingalls Wilder.  My love of her books is no secret with my recent re-reading of them.  I love that the books are written from a perspective kids get, even as she ages, but that you can still see the progression.
  8. E.B. White.  I love that her books bring you into the world of animals.
  9. Mark Twain.  These are the original adventure books.  Okay, not the original, but way more realistic and authentic than some of the fantasy stuff kids read today.
  10. A.A. Milne.  Winnie the Pooh is still cool all these many years later, sure all the characters have symptoms of psychological disorders, but they are awesome.

I could go on and on… There are so many great children’s books and authors.  And a good thing too… I love making sure kids read!

Who are some of your favourite children’s authors?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors For Children’s Books

Please, share your thoughts!

