Top Ten Books To Get Into The Halloween Spirit

The last time we dressed up for Halloween (both of us). A pirate and a nun. Last minute costume conglomerations.

Halloween is fast approaching.  ‘Tis the season for ghouls, candy and costumes.  Patrick is pumped.  For the last three years, we lived in a basement apartment at the back of a house that didn’t give out treats on the top floor.  As a result, we never had trick or treaters.  Despite Patrick buying candy every year and being ready for them.  This year, we are in a big apartment building and his hope is that some of the kids living in the building will come around.  He is excited.

I have never been a Halloween person (at least not since I was old enough to trick or treat).  One year, when I was in Nuc Med, I dressed up as a Christmas tree to spite the holiday.  It was a big hit with the patients.  The last time I dressed up for Halloween was the first year Patrick and I were married for a Christian Fellowship event.

This weeks’ Top Ten Tuesday challenge with the Broke and the Bookish is the top ten books to get in the Halloween spirit.  I am on the Halloween bah humbug side of things, but I will play along.  The issue is that I am scared of a lot…. Commercials freak me out.  I still have nightmares from the Grey’s episode when the hospital was shot up.  So, truly scary novels are almost a non-option for me.  But, when I was a kid, I loved them.  Funny how things change.  So, a lot of these are going to be suspiciously for children.

  1. The Goosebumps series by R.L. Stine.  These are awesome books.  The right level of suspense and spooky to keep kids reading, but not so much that I have ridiculous nightmares when I remember them.
  2. The Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer.  Yes, lame a bit, I know… But vampires and werewolves.  That is Halloween, right?
  3. The Witches by Roald Dahl.   Witches that off children and the kid who helps take them down.  Very Halloween-y.
  4. Strange Case of Dr. Jeckyll and Mr. Hyde.  I was out sick a lot from school in the 9th grade.  I missed the day when people got to choose from a whole stack of curriculum novels to write reports on.  I ended up with this book.  I was unimpressed, but in the end, I am grateful because it is a great book and a Halloween classic.
  5. Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  I love this parallel to the Wizard of Oz and I love the musical soundtrack even more.  Again, witches and all things that make me think Halloween, but also so much more.
  6. The Remember Me and Final Friends series by Christopher Pike.  This was another set of books I read when I was far too young to be reading these sorts of books.  I borrowed them from my friend’s older sister or the YA section in the local library.  They were pretty scary.
  7. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.  I also read this in the 9th grade.  This book is far beyond its time when it comes to looking at science and ethics, but also gives a sufficient dose of suspense and horror.
  8. The Doll in the Garden by Mary Downing Hahn.  My grade four teacher used to read us really great mysteries and ghost stories.  This is one I remembered in particular.
  9. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  Yes, this is indeed a stretch.  Part of the book takes place around Halloween time and there is talk that Boo Radley is a ghost.  It works in my head.
  10. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah E. Harkness.  To be honest, I haven’t read this one yet, but I have heard fabulous things, so I thought I would pop it on.

I struggled to get ten books (though I suppose I could have thrown on all of the Nancy Drews, Hardy Boys, Boxcar Children and Babysitter’s Club books on ghosts and the unknown).  It was fun to look back at some of the ones I read long ago.

What are some of your favourite Halloween reads?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books To Get Into The Halloween Spirit

Please, share your thoughts!

