Top Ten Books I Would Want on a Deserted Island

I am secretly (or not so secretly) a little bit of a pyro.  When V and I were younger, we would play with candles for hours on end.  When V and I were older, we got yelled at by our mothers at a wedding for re-lighting and transplanting candles.  We set most of the campfires.

Despite my fire lighting abilities, I am not a good survival person.  I am accident prone.  I have asthma.  Odds are I would light myself on fire or die trying.

So, this week’s challenge from the Broke and the Bookish is sort of relevant where it is the top ten books I would want on a deserted island.   I was thinking the “Lost” version of deserted island.  Not the paradise version of deserted island, though most of the books on my list could fall under either option.

  1. SAS Survival Handbook: For Any Climate In Any Condition  by John “Lofty” Wiseman.  If I am on a deserted island and intend to survive, I will need a book to learn more about survival.  Sure I learned some bits and pieces being in cadets, but I would want a be-all end-all guide.
  2. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  Arguably one of the best and longest novels of all times.  It would make a good companion for long days of survival.
  3. The Hunger Games Triology by Suzanne Collins.  To remember that odds are their life sucks more than mine.  And maybe steal some of their epic survival techniques.
  4. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  I keep hearing how good this book is and how it will make me happy.  So, I need to have it so that I a) read it before I die and b) feel happy and such.
  5. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  Familiar and a good thinking book, but light enough to be read in a stressful situation.
  6. The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.  I have them all in a big giant book, therefore they count as one book.  They would take a while to read and I am sure I will want to escape from reality for periods of time.  These are good books to do that with.
  7. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.  Same reasoning as above (except I would need to find them in giant book format).
  8. The Bible.   Probably the most important book ever, even next to the survival guide.  Plus it is practical and sufficiently beefy to keep me reading for ages.
  9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  This is another great book and good themed reading for my strandedness.
  10. The Lord of the Rings Triology plus The Hobbit by R.R. Tolkien.  I have yet to read these and feel they are another important to be read before I die sort of books.  Plus, if I had them on a deserted island I would actually have time to read them.

This was tough because there are all sorts of books I would read and could read if I were on a deserted island.  Though, I question if I would have the time to read them while I was busy surviving and all.  I suppose one needs to rest sometimes.

What are your deserted island picks?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Would Want on a Deserted Island

  1. Agreed, number one book is the Bible! Now, what would you do if you were stranded on call with no way out of the hospital? Light a fire!

    I’ll join you in epic fire-starting skills although I wasn’t the person who started a full scale grassfire (that would be my twin). I do, however, have decent survival skills: go, Scouts and Venturers!

  2. I am not clever enough to have planned for a survival book. Really kicking myself now! And you should get to Anna and the French Kiss! It’s delightful. I would also recommend My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick-super sweet romance.

    • Here was a piece of me who felt like the survival book was a waste. However, it is necessary for me to be able to read the others. I have heard fantastic things about the Next Door book too. I need to get around to both one of these days!

Please, share your thoughts!

