Top Ten Books I’m Most Pining For To Be Released In 2013

My taste in books, similarly to my taste in music is fairly eclectic.  And like my taste in music, I like a lot of classics, although I think I am more up on my new music than I am new books.  With school/work, I don’t really have time to keep tabs on all of  the new books and things coming out.  In fact, I feel like I have so many older books or books that have already come out to read that I really don’t anticipate many books in advance just because I often already have a giant to be read list without added pressures of new books.

Despite that, I don’t like under a rock and I am looking forward to a few books slated to be out in 2013, although I have so many others, heaven only knows when I will get to them.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is the top books I’m most pining for to be released in 2013.  I will do my best to come up with ten books that meet said criteria.

  1. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini.  Another book by the author of the Kite Runner again framed around family ties, but with a multigenerational approach.  Patrick saw a news article saying this was coming out and I got pretty excited.  I still have to read his other book, but nonetheless, it goes on the list.
  2. Ilsa and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins.  I still have yet to read Anna and the French Kiss, but it has been so hyped by so many other book bloggers, I expect it will be awesome when I get around to it and thus, so will this new release.
  3. The third book in the Divergent series by Veronica Roth.  Again, I still need to read the first two, but following all of the rave reviews, I anticpate enjoying the first two and thus the third is simply the obvious progression.
  4. The Program by Suzanne Young.  Yet another young adult sort of book, I spied this on Goodreads and it looked intriguing.  About a society in which suicide is rampant and the treatment program sounds to be brainwashing and a young girl bound to avoid being a part of said program, it sounds to be a bit of adventure, a bit of drama and suspense all in one.
  5. The Year of Luminous Love by Lurlene McDaniel.  Honestly, the story sounds a little hokey to me, but I loved Lurlene McDaniel as a kid and have enjoyed rereading a few of her books recently, so I figure I might as well give one of her new ones a try.
  6. Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt.  This one looks kind of funny.  A story of a girl who after her boyfriend cheats on her, decides to swear off all things modern and go back to living like her grandmother would have in the 1960s.
  7. Dualed by Elsie Chapman.  This sounds more like something Patrick would read than me, yet I am intrigued.  This one is basically the premise that people all have a genetic alternate (a twin) raised by another family and one of the twins needs to prove themselves by their 20th birthday.  Sounds intense, but interesting.
  8. Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella.  This is all about one of those “if we don’t get married by 30, then we can marry eachother” sorts of pacts.  It looks cute.
  9. Hattie Ever After by Kirby Larson.  I love a good story set in the past, especially with so many these days in a dystopian future.  This book follows Hattie, a young woman looking to become a journalist in the big city and looks like it might feed some of that looking back at the past need I have.
  10. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult.  This looks to be just as intense and pushing some significant social/ethical issues as most of her other books.  This one is about a beloved old man who asks someone to kill him because he was a Nazi SS Guard.

That was a really tough list for me.  I ended up discovering some cool books coming out in the next year (thank you Google and Goodreads).

What are some of the books you are looking forward to in 2013?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’m Most Pining For To Be Released In 2013

  1. I completely forgot about Isla for today’s TTT, but I am definitely excited to read it. I hope you do read Anna and the French Kiss, it is really good. I love Stephanie Perkins.

  2. Pingback: the Great Book Reading Mission of Krash Bandikoot « Krash Bandikoot

Please, share your thoughts!

