Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me

I am one of those people who has a difficult time asking for things.  I have everything we really need, at least for the most part.  I don’t like to put people out or sound needy, so I am content with what I have.

I think that is generally a good thing.

Don’t get me wrong, there are things I want.  But, the logical part of my brain reminds me (usually) that I have enough music and books and clothes, so why ask for more.

Thus, when people ask me what I want for Christmas, I often draw a blank.  I think my immediate family has adjusted to my evasiveness.  It isn’t  that I don’t want something, it is just that it isn’t necessary.  They get it.  They raised me.  We aren’t extravagant Christmas people.  But, sometimes my in-laws think I am a bit nuts because I never know what I want for Christmas (Patrick sometimes threatens to tell them I want things he wants).https://i2.wp.com/lh5.ggpht.com/-nVgswpKrrhA/UDLsJ6nfTQI/AAAAAAAABlo/rmqoWxaemf0/toptentuesday3_thumb%25255B2%25255D.jpg

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday Challenge with the Broke and the Bookish is a list of the top ten books I wouldn’t mind Santa bringing me.  This is doable.  Although I often can’t think of things off the top of my head, there are all sorts of books I wouldn’t mind acquiring.  So, I will just put that out there to those of you who puzzle at me and my not wanting gifts.

  1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.  I have had this book on my to be read list for almost a year.  The book is about a 16 year old with cancer who meets goes to a support group for teens with cancer and falls in love with a boy who is an amputee in remission from osteosarcoma.  It has a ton of good reviews and I have had it recommended to me a number of times.
  2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  Another book on my to be read list for ages, this one sounds to be a great light read that again comes highly recommended.  This one is the story of a girl who get sent off to boarding school in Paris for her senior year of high school… Intriguing.
  3. On Being Ill by Virginia Woolf.  I know, I need to not read so much around my job, but this really does sound interesting.  The book looks at illness in literature.
  4. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby.  This book was originally published in French and was translated to English, but I would take it in either language.  It is a memoir of a journalist who, following a stroke, developed locked in syndrome.
  5. A Thousand Splendid Sons by Khaled Hosseini.    I loved The Kite Runner and he has a new book coming out next year, so I was reminded of this book that I have yet to read.
  6. Anything by Jodi Picoult (well, except the ones I already have).  I know she irritates some people with the twists and the relatively similar plot patterns, but I love her books.  And aside from the few that I have in my possession, I would gladly take any of her other novels.
  7. Anything by Emily Giffin (except Something Borrowed or Something Blue).  I consumed the first two books she wrote this summer, but there are a few more out there I wouldn’t mind reading.  And having around as potential re-read material.
  8. Book anthology by Mark Twain (It is on sale at Chapters and contains both Tom Sawyer, Huckleberry Finn and others).  I have had my eye on this beast since last year.  I have no idea what it is actually called, but it has been living in the discount section.  I probably should just go acquire it myself.
  9. The Momentary Marriage by John Piper.  Really, I think I would take anything by John Piper, but this is one that has always intrigued me (by always I mean the last few months).  This book looks at marriage as a model for Christ and the church and our views of marriage versus what God intended.
  10. The House of God by Samuel Shem.  I know I have already read this, but it is totally a re-read and own kind of book.  I think it really reminds you what medicine can be like and lets you have a bit of a laugh at the same time.

Honestly, I would take almost any book, so long as it is NOT a Harlequin Romance or some sort of book about building or growing stuff.

What books are on your list this year?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me

  1. I enjoyed the Jody Picoult books I read, but once I read 3-4 of them, I just didn’t feel the need to read anymore of her stuff. It’s kind of like…I outgrew her or something.

      • I’m like that with Stephen King–I’ll read 3-4 of his books close together, then I won’t want to read him again for a few years.

  2. The Fault In Our Stars is one of my favorite books of 2012 (or really ever). Beautiful book. I hope you get lots from your list!

    Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies

Please, share your thoughts!

