Top Ten New To Me Authors of 2012

I have read a number of new authors this year (thank you time off between med school and residency).  Some of them have really taken me by surprise.  Most of them have been known to others for years.  But really, that doesn’t matter.  Just that I now like them too.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday list from the Broke and the Bookish is my top ten new to me authors of 2012.

  1. Emily Giffin.  The Child lent me Something Borrowed and Something Blue after an Indigo date discussion about me needing to try reading them despite them not being in my usual genre.  She attested I wouldn’t be able to put them down.  This was indeed true.
  2. Ted Dekker.  Patrick has a series of his books all in one big giant book that I have been eyeing since it came in the mail last winter.  He said they were fabulous.  I started them last week and thus far (after a kind of slow and shaky start), they are really good.  I think I like them more because his writing style is so complex, as he sets up two completely different worlds and somehow interconnects them.
  3. Suzanne Collins.  The Hunger Games series was “in” for a while before I jumped on the bandwagon.  I was indeed impressed with her writing and would consider buying more of it.
  4. Markus Zusak.  I purchased The Book Thief while in London this Spring after hearing tons about it all over different bok blogs.  I loved it, to say the least and then realized he has written a number of other books.
  5. Lee Strobel.  I got The Case For Christ for free at a church I went to while on the CaRMS tour in Ottawa.  I had heard about it before from a couple friends who tried reading it and disliked it.  I picked it up and devoured it in one day.  If you like a fact based, scientific and journalistic approach, he is fantastic.  Turns out, he has written more books too!
  6. Emma Donoghue.  This is another author I heard nothing about until I got one of her books, Room.
  7. Tracy Kidder.  I got his book Mountains Beyond Mountains for Christmas (along with Room).  I really enjoyed his distinctive approach to a true story.  Something he has done with other groups, inventions and such.
  8. Rebecca Skloot.  I read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks because of a few recommendations and some personal intrigue.  It turned into one of those books that I could read over and over again because it is such a story within a story.
  9. Wendy Horger Alsup.  This is the author of the theology book we decided to read of the ladies’ Sunday school at church back home.  I have read the entire thing from cover to cover and intend to again.  She makes things real and practical, but doesn’t dumb them down as if you are stunned.
  10. Mindy Kaling.  She writes mainly for sitcoms that I don’t watch, but her book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? Made me laugh out loud from cover to cover.  I would read something else she wrote in book form for sure!

And thus concludes my top ten new to me authors of 2012.

Who were some of your favourite authors that were new to you this year?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten New To Me Authors of 2012

  1. I read Ted Dekkar’s The Bride Collector last year–it was good, but I almost threw the book out the window in the middle of it because of what he did to one of the characters. I was highly disappointed and didn’t enjoy the book very much after that.
    I keep the book around, though, because I always get a good chuckle out of his author photo. 😀

    • Noted in case I ever pick it up.
      I haven’t seen his author photo, though now I have an overwhelming urge to check it out.
      Okay, I just did. Very funny.
      Thanks for informing me of the priceless author photo.
      My book has been good. I was more underwhelmed by the first 15 pages or so, but since then, it seems good.

  2. Interesting list! I fell in love with The Book Thief when I read it a few years ago, but still haven’t gotten around to his other books. Thanks for the reminder that I need to do that!

    Lisa
    My TTT

Please, share your thoughts!

