My Top Ten Favourite Books of 2012

Image from thelibrarianreads.com.

This time of year is all about looking back at the year that past.  So, it is befitting that the Top Ten Tuesday list with the Broke and the Bookish is my top ten favourite books of 2012.

  1. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  I loved the way this book mixed the scientific with the personal life story.
  2. The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by Siddartha Mukherjee.  This is another fabulous non-fiction book that intertwines the personal stories from the past and present with historical and scientific information.
  3. Room by Emma Donoghue.  This book shook my perspective about abduction and also parenthood.
  4. Something Borrowed and Something Blue by Emily Giffin.  Not at all in my usual reading repertoire, but quite fabulous.
  5. Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult.  I loved this book because it broached some hot topics, much like most of Picoult’s books, but also because it looked a lot at music therapy and music.
  6. The Case For Christ by Lee Strobel.  This free acquisition was actually a pretty cool find.  It appealed to the geek in me for sure.
  7. Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder.  This book made me want to go out and save the world.  A well told inspirational story.
  8. The Hunger Games Triology by Suzanne Collins.  These books blew my mind.  I need to read them again.  They made me think on so many levels.
  9. Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger.  Another book a bit atypical for me, but I thoroughly enjoyed getting caught up in a world so different from my own.
  10. The Little House on The Prairie Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I read this many years ago, but re-read it this summer and it was so worthwhile that it still makes my top books list for this year too.

What are some of your favourite books from 2012?

5 thoughts on “My Top Ten Favourite Books of 2012

    • I find everyone’s lists have books that are on my reading list. Sometimes just because I find them on someone else’s list!
      Hernrietta Lacks is a great book!

  1. Pingback: Cast your vote on the 2012 Favourite Self-published Book « Self Publishing Advocate

  2. I still need to read Henrietta Lacks, big sigh.
    Yay for Room and Emperor! Loved them both, although I’ll have to read the latter again in a few years when I’m wiser.
    I still want to read Sing you Home, it sounds beautiful.

    • You will get to it!
      I think your mention of it a while back was one of the things that first drew my attention to Emperor. It is one to read again when we are wiser. That is my plan too!

Please, share your thoughts!

