Labyrinthitis

I am on my first Cardiology call.

As a result, I have self-diagnosed with labyrinthitis. But not the real medical kind (the type with swelling in the middle ear resulting in dizziness and vertigo). The fake kind I made up.

This form of labyrinthitis comes from the confusion that arises when you are sorting out a new body system, new rotation and new hospital in one go.

I just had a big flare up down in emerg when I wandered forever to find my patient in a hall on a stretcher, then wandered even more to get him admitted (why does every place have to have a different system!?).

My most recent and tiring flare of my made-up labyrinthitis was just now when I finally decided I have some time to lay down and opted to go find my call room. Easy enough. Nope. It was in a hall, down a hall and away from anything remotely civilized looking. On the bright side, it is quite possibly the nicest call room I have been in less the one for obs-gyn in clerkship ( it was nice and had a window, but it failed with the whole being sandwiched between a lounge and a clinical associate who snored like a dragon… This makes it a draw). I wandered and wandered and when I finally got in… My pager went off. Classic!

Wandering isn’t all bad. And I was saved a lot of wandering thanks to Dr. Bond’s tour of awesomeness.

The best part of today is someone realized how bad it would be to leave me unattended all week, so I have a random senior to work with. Much safer. More efficient.

I am remembering why I enjoyed Cardio as a clerk. And also why it scares me.

Sifting through ECGs and complicated charts is just part of the adventure. Plus, I got to feel a pulsatile liver, hear a bunch of murmurs and start to re-learn ECGs in one fell swoop, all the while diagnosing a random TIA and explaining why pacemakers in radiation fields aren’t cool.

I hope the rest of my day is less labyrinthitis-esque. In fact, sleep is awesome, but learning isn’t so bad.

My made-up maze inflammation will improve as I settle more.

6 thoughts on “Labyrinthitis

  1. I wonder what the logic is behind making call rooms so uninviting? It should be nice enough that you want to stay there, but not so nice you are willing to sleep there instead of your own bed even when you aren’t on call.

    • Hospital priorities. They have to have beds and access to a bathroom, but nowhere does it say they have to be nice. I once had a a call room that was a key coded patient room… Same bed, small private room… Next door to where they put the confused patients. You could hear the events of the floor all night long without getting up.

Please, share your thoughts!

