Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013

After a two week hiatus, Top Ten Tuesdays with the Broke and the Bookish is back!  Okay, they have always been there.  I took a two week hiatus.  And I am strangely excited.

As appropriate for first of the year collections of posts, this one is appropriately entitled my top ten bookish goals for 2013.

I haven’t made reading goals in recent years, aside from attempt to read something not school related.  Prior to that, my goals came from the summer reading club I took part in at our local library as a kid.  I started out easy with a 25 book goal when I was little, but later set goals for 100 or 150 books in the summer… And reached it!  Ah, those were the days.

  1. Read at least 67 books (I was going to say 52 and then 60, but decided to push myself a little and pick a number that is different).  I know that isn’t a heap of books.  But, between the whole residency thing and wife thing and such, there isn’t always time for masses of reading.  And I do include school reference type books in this count because I am a dork and will read some of them cover to cover.
  2. Read at least 5 relevant journal articles related to my specialty per month.  That way, I won’t be completely in the dark about current advances and such.  And really, that is only about 1-1.5 per week.  Perfectly reasonable.
  3. Continue my kind-of streak at daily Bible reading.  I say kind-of because I do miss nights, but it is nice to keep it up.  I find it a good way to stay grounded and keep connected with God.  Plus, it is amazing what you learn.  I have done the whole read the Bible in a year plan for the last two years and I am mixing it up this year by doing some more in depth book or topical studies.  Should be a good time.
  4. Become more adventurous and read books outside of my comfort zone.  Target goal is at least 3 new genres.  I know it doesn’t sound like much, but my time is of the essence.  I journeyed last year into the whole Something Borrowed and Something Blue phenomena and enjoyed it.  The whole adventure reading The Circle is going well too, so I figure I might as well continue jumping out of my comfort zone to books that draw me in or don’t.  I think I may go with fantasy and read the whole Lord of the Rings series and maybe attempt some good going mystery or suspense (I loved those as a kid, but probably will sleep with the lights on now).
  5. Read some of the books that have been on my to be read list for ages and ages.
  6. Read some of the books that the blogosphere is raving about that I have yet to pick up because I seem to live under a rock sometimes.
  7. Visit the library more.  We live about a 5-10 minute walk from two libraries.  And Patrick has a library card.  It is a more economical choice and you can take more chances on books.  Plus trips to the library are always a delight!
  8. Continue re-reading some of my favourites from my childhood.  It is amazing what you miss and how things bring you back.  Plus it is nice to have an easy read from time to time.
  9. Attempt to follow some current events.  And I argue that hockey counts (hooray for the lockout being over!).  I got Patrick an online subscription to the Globe and Mail for the year for Christmas.  I am going to try to read one or two stories or commentaries.  Goal: To be less under a rock… Or at least peer out from time to time.
  10. Continue to keep reading and blogging fun and not a chore.  If they get to be a chore, I will cut back.  It just isn’t worty making myself crazy to meet goals (Unless of course they are education related… Generally the ones that make me crazy).

What are some of your bookish goals for 2013?  Do we have any in common?  Any tips for achieving my goals?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013

  1. I plan to tick off some books that have been on my TBR list for ages and ages…Ender’s Game and Little Women, I am coming for you in 2013! As a librarian, I will encourage goal #7. Please visit your library! They probably have all sorts of cool things, including digital materials.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! The library does have all kinds of cool things! I have yet to get an eReader, but they have such an awesome variety of books and comfy seating.
      It seems like everyone has some books hiding out on their TBR list that don’t seem to get read! Little Women is fabulous. Enjoy it once you pick it up!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Bookish (and Blog-ish) Goals for 2014 | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

