Random Bits

Some random bits of my week without any rhyme or reason (no apologies for disjointedness)…

Hockey is back.  And I believe it now that I see it.  I am not one of those fans who was so ticked off I refuse to watch.  I really did miss it when it was gone.   Last night, I watched the first period of the Habs game in broken-up slow motion thanks to poor streaming from a sketchy website.  I thought now that we have cable and a nice TV things would be better this year… The problem is we still don’t have every game televised.  And we can’t afford the NHL channels.  The Habs won, though.  Very good news to wake up to in the morning.

I am on Hepatology right now.  It is a learning curve.  My attending is awesome and loves to grill with questions.  I see it as a personal challenge; even though this is the most stunned I have felt since starting Cardiology last month.  Livers are interesting, I must say.  It has been slow clinically, but I have been making up for that with all sorts of required reading assignments.  I am such a geek.

Yesterday, I decided to fix our vacuum cleaner.  If you don’t know, I am the handy one in the family.  I just have some mad scientist in me.  Also, I am terrified of the vacuum cleaner.  So is the cat.  But, Patrick has been noting for the past number of weeks that the actual vacuum has no suck, even though the hose still works, despite him emptying the bin.  Turns out the rubber belt thingie (technical term) is broken. I disassembled the whole thing to figure that out.  He was going to go buy the part today and tomorrow I will put it all back together again (hopefully).  The poor cat nearly had a stroke with the vacuum being out long enough for me to mangle it.

Patrick gave me a cold.  Who says I work in a germy place?  I am pretty sure  kids are sicker than most of my liver patients, at least from an airborne contagious perspective.

On a related note, my tonsils hate me.  They are huge and whenever I get sick they get huger (not a word, but fitting in this case).  Swallowing is a challenge.  I really should consider getting them resected.  But, they will only do that multiple documented episodes of tonsillitis in a year.  And I will only get them documented if my own documentation counts.    I don’t think it does.  So, like my wisdom teeth, I will procrastinate until I develop a real problem.

Secondary to the whole tonsil issue… Soup and tea are wonderful inventions.

I finally finished reading The Circle by Ted Dekker last night.  It took me over a month.  It was awesome.  I recommend it.  I am also excited to start reading a book that fits in my purse and doesn’t weigh more than some of my textbooks again.

Sometimes, when I am on call and have down time, I start to read my fun book and then I get angry inside when someone pages and “rudely” interrupts my fun reading.  I do not quite have the same reaction if I am studying.

I met a random lady on the hospital shuttle.  She told me her entire life story and all about books she has written and how she decided to go back to university after retiring to get her B.A. and how she intends to travel across Canada after she graduates, just because.  She didn’t tell me her name.  She looked to be at least in her mid 60s.  Good for her.

I have a single white hair in my bangs.  I keep trying to pull it out even though some people say you shouldn’t do that.  I can’t seem to get to it because whenever I notice it, I am in a rush to do something else.

We have friends from the Rock visiting this weekend.  And friends from home moving to town.  Yay.

What randomness is occurring during your week?

Please, share your thoughts!

