Dearly Departed… Or Not So Much

She probably told you everyone dies and that she was dying always has been, since the day she was born.  And now she is dead.

Blah, blah, blah random life stuff.

Trisha is holding a fork because the best is yet to come.

The end… Or is it?

The Daily Post prompt today was to write your own eulogy.

Although thinking about what someone will say following my demise about me and my life is an interesting reflection of how I feel about my life at present and what and where and who I want to be, realistically, none of it matters.  Yes, I am that nihilistic.  Okay, not really.

The thing is everyone says nice stuff at funerals no matter how awful the person is.   And no matter what I do in my life, whomever is eulogizing me will probably make it sound like I am some sort of hero with my autobiographical details thrown in between.

I have been to funerals where the eulogy was at least 60-70% fiction… And it can get pretty ridiculous.

When I die, I would love some honesty in my eulogy.  Mainly about death.  Because that is how I roll.  So, I want people to use the word die instead of “pass” or “depart.”  I want someone  to be blunt about the fact that I am in heaven.  And I want people to be a happy… Thus the whole fork analogy (props to my wonderful other father for the concept).

So, maybe not so much about death up front.  No need to be that morbid.  Although that is a bit typical of me.  Sure, you can go off with some autobiographical details.  But, the realism… Keep it.  If I turn into a cranky demented old lady mention that, don’t dwell… But make light of it or something.

The funeral is more for the living, and really I don’t care, but I do care that whomever does it is realistic about death, and clear on where I am and why I am there.

Short and sweet.  The rest doesn’t really matter.

Oh, and in case you didn’t know, I want this song played at my funeral (not necessarily this version, but at this tempo)… Complete with clapping.  And maybe even some smiles.

3 thoughts on “Dearly Departed… Or Not So Much

  1. Pingback: JUST SOMEONE ONCE « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Dearly Departed or how did she die? | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Pingback: IN REMEMBRANCE OF SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY « hastywords

Please, share your thoughts!

