Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters

Everyone has those someones who drive them crazy.  I like to say those are people I would like to kick in the teeth (or shins or other body part).  Generally, this is not socially acceptable, so we need to continue on with life and restrain the kicking urges. 

This week’s top ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is a list of just those people… The top ten most frustrating characters ever… Otherwise known as the kick in the teeth list.  Book characters are even more annoying in one sense, though… You can never actually take them out (I suppose you could just stop reading about them, but where’s the fun in that?).

  1. Bella from the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer.  She is on a ton of lists this week.  And with good reason.  I may have been a bit emo as a teen, but she takes the whole thing to a new level.  In addition to her poor me attitude, she also leads on some lovely guys, exhibits some poor relationship and social skills and makes some pretty ridiculous life decisions.
  2. Catherine from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.  I did actually quite enjoy this book.   I disliked Catherine most of all because she was single-handedly the source of all angst and drama.  Heathcliff could be a bit frustrating, but Catherine was someone who was toxic to everyone around her.  If only one could reach into a book and slap someone.
  3. Laura from The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams.  This play was one of our high school English reading assignments.  Laura is a character who has epic levels of self-pity and a strange fascination with glass figurines.  Her mother (also irritating) is constantly trying to set her up with men and she spends an awkward evening with a guy who turns out to be engaged (the end of the world!).
  4. Janae from Green by Ted Dekker.  She is the daughter of one of the recurring characters from the other books in the series and she is not much like her mother and very spoiled, indignant and stupid in a number of ways.  I can’t say more without ruining the book, but I disliked her for her personality on both sides of the time-space continuum.
  5. Darcy from Something Borrowed and Something Blue by Emily Giffin.  Despite loving both books, I could not stand Darcy and her “the world is my oyster” ways.  Even in the second book where you see things from her eyes, I still wanted to give her a boot.  Thankfully some other people kind of do that for me.
  6. Anna Fitzgerald in My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  I did enjoy this book.  Really.  But, there were some inaccuracies surrounding kidney transplantation and such that rotted me.  But more than that, Anna, the kid that was basically made for spare parts, had a complex about being made for spare parts.  Although I could go into a whole rant about how that of itself isn’t right, it also doesn’t make it right in my mind for a kid to hire a lawyer to take down her parents.  Especially not in the midst of her sister’s illness.  Not fair for Anna, true… But I think her whole approach to things is unfair too.  And yes she is a kid.  But that in and of itself should be said… She is a kid.
  7. Charlotte Phelan from The Help by Kathryn Stockett.  Skeeter’s Mom shocked me again and again.  Despite raising a fine daughter, she held some of the views of the time (not necessarily her fault), but took them to an extreme.  Plus, she manipulated her kid who, might I note, was an adult… That is what gets me!
  8. Caillou from the series Caillou by Christine L’Heureux.  If you think the TV show is annoying… Read the books… They are equally so.  Except you don’t get the kid’s voice.  So whiny.
  9. Nellie Olsen from the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  She is very irritating.  I am glad she doesn’t appear until later in the book series.
  10. Nessie from Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  I could never get over how needy and poor me-ish she was.  Her sister could be awful and she was dealt a tough life, but she took advantage.

Who are some book characters that you want to kick in the teeth?  Do you agree or disagree with my choices?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters

Please, share your thoughts!

