I Will Wait

I keep hearing this one Mumford and Sons song around… On the radio.  It has been played during both of the matinee Habs games I have happened to catch this weekend.  It was playing at church when people were preparing their questions a few weeks ago.  It popped up on my playlist when I was walking home from work the other day and when I was camped out in the library working on my research proposal.

The song is “I Will Wait.”

I have heard some people say that they now dislike the band and the song because they have gone mainstream… But whatever.

I know, I have been in a song lyrics phase.  Reminds me a bit of mopey teenager.  But, everyone has a bit of mopey teenager in them.  And I am not mopey.

Anyway, the lyrics of the song have really been speaking to me.  Because music just does that.

Well I came home like a stone

And I fell heavy into your arms

These days of dust, which we’ve known

Will blow away with this new sun

And I’ll kneel down, wait for now

And I’ll kneel down know my ground

And I will wait, I will wait for you

And I will wait, I will wait for you

So break my step, and relent

Well you forgave, and I won’t forget

Know what we’ve seen and him with less

Now in some way shake the excess

But I will wait, I will wait for you

And I will wait, I will wait for you

And I will wait, I will wait for you

And I will wait, I will wait for you

Now I’ll be bold as well as strong

And use my head alongside my heart

So tame my flesh and fix my eyes

A tethered mind freed from the lies

But I’ll kneel down, wait for now

I’ll kneel down know my ground

Raise my hands, paint my spirit gold

Bow my head, keep my heart slow

‘Cause I will wait, I will wait for you

And I will wait, I will wait for you

And I will wait, I will wait for you

And I will wait, I will wait for you

I don’t know what the band’s interpretation of the song is at least not for sure.

I just read that in one interview it was suggested that it was about maintain relationships while on the road.

Boy, do I get that.

When I hear the song, that is one of the things I think of.

The song is definitely about relationship.  About love and care.

But, I always hear it as God.  Waiting on His return, on His command.  Talking about the change that is exhibited with grace.  About the forgiveness and love and shelter.

Maybe it is because that is what I need to hear right now, I am not sure.  But, that is what I get out of the song.  In my research, I found that I am not alone.

Either way, this song exhibits relationship at its ideal.  Patience, love and forgiveness.

Plus, I love the banjo.  The whole thing just feels powerful.

And I could almost dance to it.  Okay, I could.  And belt along with it.

Mind you, I do that with many, many songs.

What songs are stuck in your head these days?

4 thoughts on “I Will Wait

  1. Nice song. I like the banjo too. Adele’s “Someone Like You” is stuck in my head these days. It’s one of those songs I play over and over. Drives my husband crazy.

    • Good song. I can see where he might go a bit crazy when it is played repeatedly. I once sang along with that song this with actions on a long road trip. My husband said it confirmed I was crazy.

      • Haha! I once kept hitting repeat on it in the car. My husband just rolled his eyes. We exited the car and went into the drugstore and guess what was playing in there? Yep, you guessed it…. Adele’s Someone Like You. Hubby said, “Geez, I just can’t escape her!” I laughed til I almost wet myself.

Please, share your thoughts!

