Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

This week’s Weekly Photo Challenge with The Daily Post is entitled “Home.”  The prompt is to post a photo that means home to you.

Patrick and I have moved around a fair bit in the past few years.  In fact, I use home to delineate several places and sometimes I have a difficult time explaining where I am from or where home actually is for me.  Sometimes, it feels a bit frustrating.  But really, I think I am fortunate to have a few places to call home.

For us, home is more about love and connection than a single location.  People say, “home is where the heart is,” and although I find the saying cheesy, it is kind of true.  It is where our family and friends are.  Some place familiar.  So, really if I had to break it down, I would almost say we have three homes, all that have little bits of us in them.  All of which I look forward to returning to (some more than others).  So, I selected four multiple pictures that are home to me in the different ways I see home.

First of all, home is first and foremost where my husband is and where we choose to make a life for ourselves at any given point in time.

Classic wedding shot... Getting ready for the rest of our lives.

Classic wedding shot… Getting ready for the rest of our lives.

Second of all, home is where we grew up. Where both of our families are.  Where some of our closest friends are.

Patrick and his siblings with his Grandfather.

Patrick and his siblings with his Grandfather.

Memere, Pepere and the grandchildren.

Memere, Pepere and the grandchildren.

At my home-home church with my best friends and our Moms.

At my home-home church with my best friends and our Moms.

Third, our home is where we spent our first few years of marriages cultivating what we believe to be life-long friendships and growing in a culture somewhat different from our own.

Our island family.

Our island family.

Patrick and I at one of the most iconic stereotypical moments at our old home (well, near it, not quite at it).

Patrick and I at one of the most iconic stereotypical moments at our old home (well, near it, not quite at it).

And lastly, our home is our present place of residence with its rich history and the adventures that come with settling into a new place for a predictable period of time.

Exploring our new home.

Exploring our new home.

Playing in our new home.

Playing in our new home.

What means home to you?

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: home « my sweetpainteddreams

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home… | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home (Open Shutters) « What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | DmG Art & Photo

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Home | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  8. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 6, 'Home']. « 3rdculturechildren

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge Home, Love, Valentines Day « 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

Please, share your thoughts!

