Top Ten Romances (TTT Valentines Edition)

‘Tis the season…

The season I am most bah humbugish of all is upon us… Valentines day.  It is, in my opinion even more ridiculously commercialized and dramatized than Christmas.  Why does anyone need a day designated to celebrate love?

The Broke and the Bookish are in on the festivities with this Tuesday’s edition of Top Ten Tuesdays entitled “the top ten romances in books.”

I’m not sure I feel like classifying romances in books.  I don’t die inside for romances and romantic stuff.  But, I do appreciate good relationships.  So, I am interpreting this as the top ten relationships in books.  Not perfect, not “swoony” but just pleasant.

  1. Gus and Hazel from John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars.  They are young, but this book treats relationships in the midst of illness with realism.  They did it well.  A short relationship the way they did it is better than a long one that seems made up.
  2. Anne and Gilbert from LM Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables books.  They weren’t perfect.  It took years for Anne to get it all together, but they were real.  They fought.  They complimented each other.  It worked.
  3. Thomas and Rachelle from Ted Dekker’s The Circle series.  I liked how relationships were portrayed in general in this book, but this couple in particular was exemplary in living through difficult times, supporting one another, but also a realistic portrayal of  some of the negative things like jealousy.
  4. Marius and Cosette from Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables.  It is a bit unrealistic and love at first sight-y, but I still like them.
  5. Noah and Allie from Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook.  Okay, I bash Nicholas Sparks books all the time.  And I still hate how they are cookie cutter romances.  But, I do love that Noah sticks with Allie through all the dementia and such.
  6. Henry and Clare from Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveller’s Wife.  Again, not perfect.  Not entirely realistic in principle, but the relationship has ups and downs and is another of those life-long despite trials things.  I like those.
  7. Ethan and Darcy in Emily Giffin’s Something Blue.  I didn’t like Darcy, but I have to admit, their relationship was built on friendship and honesty all the while knowing eachother’s faults.  Plus, it was adorable how it all came together.
  8. Ron and Hermione from JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series.  Friends who eventually fall in love.  It is the dream.

That is all I have.  I don’t think in context of romance.

Some honorary television mentions… Lorelai and Luke from Gilmore Girls, the Huxtable parents from The Cosby Show and Jessie and Tom from 18 To Life.

What are some of your favorite romances? Or anti-romances?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Romances (TTT Valentines Edition)

  1. I would like to add Ma and Pa from the “Little House on the Prairie” book series. No matter how tough things got Pa managed to find ways to make Ma very happy. Ma stuck by him through thick and thin to say the least. She also followed him everywhere (which I can relate to! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Worst Relationships In Books | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

