Top Ten Favourite Characters From Medical Fiction

Today is National Resident Awareness Day! 

What does that mean?  Well, we residents were offered free coffee and muffins (which I missed secondary to clinical duties), given tacky “ask what I do” stickers to wear (well, some people were… I missed free coffee and muffins, so I also missed the sticker op) and otherwise carry on as normal.  So, basically I carried on as normal (although they did clap for the residents at grand rounds this morning).

Despite my non-festiveness for resident awareness day, I will now incorporate the festivities into today’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish.  Today’s list is my top ten favourite characters from a genre of your choice.  I am choosing the medical fiction genre (thus, books that include anything medicine-connected) just so that I can say I did something “festive.”

  1. Hazel from The Fault in our Stars by John Green.  I know this is kind of crazy, but if I were 16 with terminal cancer, I would have been like her.  Not like I can predict that because who knows what I actually would have been like.  But, she is my 16 year old self, but with a terminal illness.   She was appropriately cynical and yet realistic in her outlook and ended up being a great friend and daughter in the end.  Awesomeness.
  2. Augustus from The Fault in our Stars by John Green.  I liked how he was ironic by carrying around cigarettes and not smoking.  I like how he was selfless and loved abundantly.  I would want him to be my friend.
  3. The Fat Man from The House of God by Samuel Shem.  Although he was an ass, this senior resident was hilarious and I love his rules and approach to life, even if I would never want to emulate it as such.
  4. Henrietta Lacks and family from The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  Henrietta was one tough lady who did a lot to help her family in her short life.  The impact of the cells taken from her body shaped the world, but her family was inspirational once I learned all they had been through.
  5. Gilbert Blythe from the Anne of Green Gables series by LM Montgomery.  Yes, if you haven’t read past book one, spoiler alert: he becomes a doctor.  I liked him as a character, even though I think he and Anne could have gotten over themselves a bit sooner.
  6. Christopher John Francis Boone from The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon.  I loved how this book got you into this kid’s head.  I also appreciated the look it gave us into the world of Autism spectrum.
  7. Heidi from Heidi by Johanna Spyri.  I love this kid’s spunky, chipper spirit.  And the way she loves people well is super cool too.
  8. Faith from Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult.  Although this book still disturbs and perplexes me a bit (particularly the end), I did really like this kid.  She was sweet and kind and the kind of kid you want… Minus the stigmata and such.
  9. Rob from the Dawn Rochelle series by Lurlene McDaniel.  I may come off as a jerk here, but Dawn Rochelle annoyed me from time to time in this series.  I, however, love her older brother to bits… He is the perfect older brother (and a bone marrow donor to boot… Woot woot).
  10. Morrie from Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom.  I really liked Morrie.  He took his illness in stride and passed on what he could.  Plus, I appreciate how frank and honest he was about it all.

Who are some of your favourite medically related characters in fiction?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Characters From Medical Fiction

    • I haven’t checked out the Belleview Review, although now I need to.
      The House of God is fabulous, although it is a bit disturbing by times, I can’t help but love it!
      Thanks for stopping by!

Please, share your thoughts!

