Top Ten Auto-buy Authors

It is Tuesday, so you know what that means!?!?

It is Top Ten Tuesday time with the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s list is the top ten auto-buy authors.

As it turns out, I don’t have a whack of auto-buy authors.  This is because I (although Patrick may sometimes consider this debatable) have a ridiculous volume of self-control when it comes to buying almost anything (except coffee).  So, despite innumerable field trips to Chapters/Indigo/amazon.ca, I pace by book buying and generally avoid buying books I could otherwise borrow or wait on.  I generally only buy books that sound uber awesome or that I will read again.

So, much of my list are authors who I have more of an urge to buy every time their books come out, even if I don’t actually go for it.

  1. Mitch Albom.  Since reading Tuesdays with Morrie, I tend to pick up his books as soon as they appear.  Actually, it seems that people buy them for me because they know of my ridiculous love of his style.
  2. AJ Jacobs.  He cracks me up.  We have a couple of his books and I have to fight the urge to just pick the next one up every time we are at the book store.
  3. Emily Giffin.  I have only read two of her books, but I want to read more and every time I see her new book, I have to convince myself not to buy it… Again.
  4. John Green.  I have only read one of his books, but I now want all of them, as ridiculous as that may sound.
  5. Emma Donoghue.  I loved Room and have been looking forward to her new book.  When I saw it at a local book store this afternoon, I picked it up and put it back three times before actually walking away.
  6. Yann Martel.  I bought his book, Beatrice and Virgil, as soon as it came out because I loved Life of Pi.  It was nowhere near as good, though I liked it more than some.  The sad part is that  if he publishes something else, I will still snatch it up.
  7. Jodi Picoult.  Yes, her books all follow the same general pattern, but I do like them (even with the twist).  I haven’t read all of her old books (because I like them in small doses), but when she puts out a new one, I can’t help but seriously consider purchasing it.
  8. J.K. Rowling.  I haven’t read The Casual Vacancy, but I want to, even though half the people I have spoken to hated it. Because I loved Harry Potter, I always feel compelled.
  9. Stephanie Meyer.  I mock the Twilight series, but it was a set of books that I actually did enjoy even despite thinking they were ridiculous.  And I did buy The Host (it is on my vacation to-read list).  So, odds are she has another book out, I will want to get it.
  10. Kyle Idleman.  I loved the Not a fan book, so if he writes something else, I will snatch it up.  Partly because I enjoyed his style and partly because he isn’t afraid of the tough topics.

 

Who are some of your auto-buy authors?

Please, share your thoughts!

