Vacation versus Redecoration

My staycation thus far has consisted of all kinds of awesomeness that I suspect the average person would consider dull.

A big chunk of my Monday was spent on house cleaning and some creative adventures that began with a Wal-Mart field trip with the Child (who is now local!).  I came home with several bags of decorating paraphernalia and a pair of orange rubber boots (finally, my feet will be dry when I walk home… Unlike what happened the day I wrote this post). Patrick was shocked to see the heap of stuff when I fell through the door with it all.

He was even more shocked to see the end result when we got home.

I did a full re-do of the bathroom.  I had this fabulous rainbow shower curtain that was getting disgusting beyond repair.  We actually picked out more “grown-up” print for the curtain, which also better matches the tile in the bathroom.  In other excitement, we got a new soap dispenser and toothbrush holder (that you can more easily clean).

The before curtain.  I loved it.  It still breaks my heart we had to part.

The before curtain. I loved it. It still breaks my heart we had to part.

Our new soap dispenser and toothbrush holder... Not that different from our old set, but cleaner and not disgusting anymore!

Our new soap dispenser and toothbrush holder… Not that different from our old set, but cleaner and not disgusting anymore!

Everything is more grown up, the bath mat is a dream... But we still kept the trusty rubber ducky for a taste of whimsy.

Everything is more grown up, the bath mat is a dream… But we still kept the trusty rubber ducky for a taste of whimsy.

I did not stop there… I then ironed my giant heap of ironing and our new orange curtains.

Yes, orange.

I then hung the curtains under the close supervision and “assistance” of Jeter (who did not get his afternoon nap for all the excitement).

Helpful Harry (er... Jeter).

Helpful Harry (er… Jeter).

I even made my own curtain ties with ribbon and snaps (for about $4.00… win).  It is strangely simple, all you have to do is measure out the length of ribbon to the desired length to hold the curtains back and then sew a snap on to the inside, so it is easy to fasten on and off.  I opted for long ends on the ribbon, so that it looks like a bow (almost).

The supplies... Delightful ribbon, measured (by wrapping it around the curtain and hook), snaps (from a dollar store sewing kit, thread and scissors.

The supplies… Delightful ribbon, measured (by wrapping it around the curtain and hook), snaps (from a dollar store sewing kit, thread and scissors.

The snaps sewn on.

The snaps sewn on.

The finished product.

The finished product.

More of the finished product.

More of the finished product.

I feel ridiculously accomplished.  Especially because I am not always that crafty.  I feel like homemade curtain ties are something that would be on Pinterest.  And thus that makes me feel super crafty.

Top that off with cooking a nice peppercorn trout with rice supper and I felt like a regular housewife (I still need to clean out the fridge and oven… A mission for another day).

I was excited.  Patrick was amazed at the transformation that my psycho redecorating took.  And I have yet to partner with the Child on the bench re-covering.

I told Patrick that night that I kind of like the whole vacation thing in combination with the whole housewife thing.  I contemplated quitting my job and just having babies.  He reminded me that being a housewife is not a vacation, which I know very well.  However, pretending to be a housewife is a part of my vacation because somedays I feel like medicine eats my life.  And that I will get time off when I eventually have a baby.  And that I am on vacation, so instead of scrubbing and rearranging the whole house, I might want to consider doing vacation things.  But, it is a change from my norm.  I swear, we did some vacation stuff too.

For instance, we went skating.  And I wore hockey skates for the first time in my life and realized that I like them better because they fit my feet better.  I resisted the urge to wear a helmet and fend off concussion (against my better judgement, but heck, I am on vacation, why not rebel?).  I didn’t fall once and we both returned with all of our limbs intact.  Plus, we burned sufficient calories that I justified a Beavertail dessert.

My boy-skates!

My boy-skates!

The rink... Beautiful night, complete with a full moon!

The rink… Beautiful night, complete with a full moon!

We survived!!

We survived!!

Om nom nom... Canadian delightfulness!

Om nom nom… Canadian delightfulness!

Love the vacation-y goodness!

Please, share your thoughts!

