Dentists and Benches

Just so you know, due to my inability to rhyme, I think the title rhymes, even though I know in my heart of hearts it probably does not.

Today, this cool cat went to the dentist.  Yes, that is right, the dentist.  We are the coolest people ever because not only did I go to the dentist on vacation, but Patrick did too.  We went on a dental date, as the hygienist called it.  This was, however, the most convenient time for us to get to the dentist… Because I work when they are open.

It is not something I would do voluntarily normally.  We haven’t been to the dentist in a year and a half due to scheduling challenges.  And because I strongly dislike the dentist.  I know lots of people hate the doctor.  But I have a weird thing about people having their hands in my mouth.  I place immunizations and pap smears above the dentist in things I would prefer doing.

The big win is that I had no cavities and they said I can continue to keep my wisdom teeth because they don’t generally bother me (hooray for risk-benefit ratios).  This drives Patrick crazy because I dislike the dentist and I have no real reason to hate it.

But beyond that, my vacation awesomeness continues to be full of general household improvements and a lot of TV/reading (and that we went out to a fabulous all-you-can-eat pasta bar last night).

I know, this is so out of character for me, all of this craftiness, but it kind of fun.

I promise I will start writing about things other than crafty projects… Tomorrow.

The Child and I recovered the bench/shelf thing in my living room with some fabulous fabric.  Effort and all, the entire process was half the price of buying a new one… And there is no way we would have found such an awesome print for a reasonable price.

To prove to you it happened… Here are the photos, as stolen from the Child’s Facebook page (yes, I am one of those people) arranged and documented as if we are a how-to and the sorts of people who know what they are doing.  Well, she is a crafty sort, so she was the creative one (and the photographer) in the situation (check out her blog here)… I was the “read 50 how-to guides on the topic” person (cue nerdy snort) in the situation.

The bench top before.  Jeter felt it his duty to only scratch that and two spots on our carpet for the last several months.

The bench top before. Jeter felt it his duty to only scratch that and two spots on our carpet for the last several months.

Removing the legs of the bench.  Jeter was trying to help.

Removing the legs of the bench. Jeter was trying to help.

Lining up the fabric on the cushion while Jeter plays with the screws from the bench.

Lining up the fabric on the cushion (to make sure it fits and is straight.  Meanwhile, Jeter plays with the screws from the bench.

I bought a staple gun for the procedure.  Staple the corners first to make sure it holds, then cut and adjust the fabric  so that there is not excess hanging down.

I bought a staple gun for the procedure. Staple the corners first to make sure it holds, then cut and adjust the fabric so that there is not excess hanging down.

Realizing that we stapled the fabric over the holes where the legs go.  Pro tip: if you leave the legs, it may be a bit complicated, but it saves a lot of cutting through double layers of fabric.

Realizing that we stapled the fabric over the holes where the legs go. Pro tip: if you leave the legs, it may be a bit complicated, but it saves a lot of cutting through double layers of fabric.

Getting the legs reattached after chopping out chunks of  fabric.  And after trimming away the excess, so that the staple line is under the rim of the bench.

Getting the legs reattached after chopping out chunks of fabric. And after trimming away the excess, so that the staple line is under the rim of the bench.

We stapled the pulp out of the underside, so that things are tight.  Using a staple gun is kind of like stapling someone's incision site.  Just saying.  We were pleased with the result.  And Jeter is not a fan of scratching the new texture (double win!).

We stapled the pulp out of the underside, so that things are tight. Using a staple gun is kind of like stapling someone’s incision site. Just saying.
We were pleased with the result. And Jeter is not a fan of scratching the new texture (double win!).

I have enjoyed all of the creating.  Maybe I will keep it up once vacation is over, although odds are I won’t.  It has given me a whole new admiration for crafty folks, especially given all I usually do is knit (not that there is anything wrong with knitting).

2 thoughts on “Dentists and Benches

Please, share your thoughts!

