Top Ten Series I Would Like To Start (but have not)

I may be a touch forgetful of details I don’t consider “important,” however, when I saw the subject for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and Bookish, I was pretty sure I have done it before.  And I kind of did… Look at this post if you don’t believe me. 

In their defense, I took liberties with the previous topic and used an extra bit of subtext to include series that I have yet to start.  And this time, the challenge is all about the top ten series I would like to start but haven’t.  I am going to do it again anyway, although, there will be much repetition.

  1. Divergent series by Veronica Roth.  I almost picked up Divergent the other day at Chapters.  But then, I realized I would immediately want to read the next book, which is still a small fortune in hardcover and the third book in the series is not even out yet.  So, I decided to wait until all 3 are out in paperback… Or at least at the library.
  2. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin.   I am not a big fantasy person. But, I did the CaRMS tour with a few people who were big fans of these books and kept talking about them.  And we have a friend who is really into them.  Maybe one day I will pick them up.
  3. The Hobbit/Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien.  I picked up the Hobbit once during my undergrad, but never got around to reading it before it was due back in to the library.  And I hated the LOTR movies… At least the one I saw.  Patrick and I intended to see The Hobbit, though… We just didn’t get around to it.  I keep hearing such good things.  I just need to go to the library and find the time to hammer them out.
  4. The Uglies series by Scott Westerfield.  Another dystopian sort of feel book, this has had a fair bit of hype in the blog world.  And honestly, it does really look kind of intriguing.
  5. The Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty.  This looks ridiculously teen cheesy to the extreme and yet it looks like a hilarious read.  Everyone needs to read something light sometimes!
  6. An Irish Country Doctor series by Patrick Taylor.  Patrick has read a few of the books in this series after stumbling upon them at the library.  He was drawn to the Irish bit and the fact the author’s name is also Patrick, but they do sound quite interesting and he has quite enjoyed them.
  7. Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events series by Daniel Handler.  Lots of people read these as kids… I somehow missed out, but found them while book shopping for C.  I want to read them now, as silly as that may be.
  8. Delirium series by Lauren Oliver.  More dystopia.  The problem is many of the book blogs I read talk a lot about dystopian books and then I want to read said dystopian novels too.  Ah, contagion!
  9. The Maze Runner series by James Dashner.  Again dystopian/science fiction stuff.  Again found on blogs.  I still want to read it.
  10. The Giver series by Lois Lowry.  Apparently some people read this in school.  I did not, but I did see the first book in a collection of books at Chapters last week on one of their featured tables for some reason.  Reminded me I should read it.

What are some series that you need to read?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Series I Would Like To Start (but have not)

  1. I just finished A Series of Unfortunate Events last year. They are good, but they do get bit repetitive. I also want to read the Jessica Darling series, but it didn’t make my list. I’ve heard very good things about it, though.

    • I am not sure if I need to read the whole Series of Unfortunate Events series because I have heard they get a bit monotonous, but maybe one or two at least just to see what they are all about.
      It seems many people rave about the Jessica Darling series. I hope it is as good as they claim!

  2. I read the first book from the Series of Unfortunate Events when I was hmmm…in middle school? Maybe older? It was cute, but I wasn’t really keen on reading further. In an interesting turn of events, my Goodreads book club just picked the whole series as part of a YA challenge, so I just picked them up again and read the first 2 (we are reading two a month). I seem to enjoy them more as an adult because some of the humor can go over children’s heads, I think. I read the Giver a year ago (I also seemed to have missed that one in school) and really enjoyed it. I need to pick up the others. I haven’t gotten around to The Maze Runner either, but I definitely want to read it.

    My TTT: http://paigedanielsnguyen.blogspot.com/2013/03/top-ten-tuesday-12.html

    • That is interesting that your book club is reading the Series of Unfortunate Events. I love it when books intended for younger age groups are better when you are older (although sometimes it makes me sad that kids kind of miss out on their greatness). I recently re-read the Little House series and although I enjoyed it as a kid, there was a lot I liked more as an adult, not because of hidden humor, but just a better grasp on life.
      I know a few people who read the Giver in school, although the more people I talk to, the more it seems haven’t read it or didn’t know it was a part of a series.

      • I agree so much about how kids miss out on the greatness of some children’s books because they’re simply not in a place to fully grasp them yet, That’s why I want to make sure my kids are good and ready before starting Harry Potter lol. I also have a special place in my heart for The Little House books. I reread Farmer Boy about two years ago and loved it all over again. That would be a good TTT topic- books you loved as a kid and loved even more as an adult! 🙂

  3. I’ve read at least one book from most of these series, but I’ve only finished two of them (LOTR and Uglies). Apparently, I’m awesome at starting series, not so great at completing them 😦

    Glad to have found you via TTT!

    • I am impressed that you have even started all of these series. I have a habit of avoiding series until I can read them in entirety, so I miss out on many because of my procrastination.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Ooh, I’ve actually read some of these! I really enjoyed The Giver- in fact, I still think of it from time to time. I didn’t enjoy Gathering Blue (the sequel) as much, but it was still interesting. I read most of A Series of Unfortunate Events and did somewhat enjoy them, but I’m not sure I ever figured out what happened to their parents. I adore both The Hobbit and LOTR, so that goes without saying. I read The Maze Runner, but it wasn’t very satisfying, I found. It didn’t resolve enough by the end, and going into the second book it was gruesome without a purpose, so I didn’t read it. But do let me know if it turns out well! And this A Song of Ice and Fire series intrigues me. It sounds like fantasy, is it? I do enjoy a good fantasy book.

    • I find the interesting part about many kids books is that the parents aren’t in the picture or there is no real explanation for their absence. I suppose A Series of Unfortunate Events may be another in the line of books that did that.
      If I read the Maze Runner, I will let you know if it gets better.
      I think A Song of Ice and Fire is kind of fantasy-like. The people I know who have read it are often people who like fantasy and they seemed to enjoy the books.

Please, share your thoughts!

