Top Ten Books At the Top of My Spring To Be Read List

It is that time of year again… It is the turn of the seasons and thus, the Broke and the Bookish are prompting me to write about my top ten books at the top of my Spring to be read list.   I like the “at the top” stipulation.  Otherwise, I could include some of the same books every time.  I still likely will.

I looked back at last year’s TBR list from the Spring and I must say that I am impressed… Since that list, I have read 6/10 of the books I listed (if I count only the Emily Giffin book I listed).  Not all that Spring, but nonetheless, it was accomplished.  I was starting to think I never read what is on my TBR list.  I also must note that I thankfully don’t have to read Toronto Notes in entirety for another few months (eerie music signaling the LMCC part 2 in 6 months).    Unfortunately, my TBR list is not comprised entirely of fun books.

  1. The Physics of Radiation Therapy by Faiz Khan.  I thought I would just open up with my less fun book.  I do love physics. But, I really do need to get on the physics reading bandwagon.  What a great way to start (*nerdy snort*)!
  2. Mark Twain’s Tom Sawyer, The Prince and the Pauper, Huckleberry Finn and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.  Patrick got me this giant book of Mark Twain-y goodness for Christmas and I have yet to really crack it out (because he is reading it).  I am looking forward to reading it next.
  3. C.S. Lewis Signature Classics.  Besides the Narnia series, I have not read any of C.S. Lewis’s stuff.  Patrick has had this giant book for ages.  I cracked it out a while ago but didn’t get beyond the intro.  I feel like it is something I should read given people talk about it all the time.  Plus, it is at home on our shelf, so I need to read it.
  4. Baby Proof and other Emily Giffin.  I know the Child possesses these.  I must borrow them.  Very soon.
  5. Canada by Richard Ford.  Patrick bought this on our “yay he is actually teaching and got a real pay cheque” trip to Chapters at which we were both allowed to buy one book of our choosing.  It sounds interesting to me.  Not my usual read, but interesting.
  6. 11/22/63 by Stephen King.  It is in our house and on our shelf.  Patrick liked it and says I probably will too minus the odd piece that might freak me out.  I think I am getting up the will to give it a try.
  7. Struck By Lightning by Chris Colfer.  The Child recently read this and told me it was decent and a nice light read.  I may need that based on the list.  And borrowing books from her library is just so much easier now that they are nearby.
  8. This is Your Brain on Music by Daniel Levitin.  This is embarrassing.  I usually don’t have books in my possession for this long without reading them.  I have had this one for a few years now.  I started it a couple summers ago… Like between Med 2 and Med 3, but I couldn’t get into it and put it down and never picked it back up.  I need to get on that.
  9. The Hobbit and LOTR by R.R. Tolkien.  I know, guilty of putting these on my TBR list every time it comes around.  I know.  But, I really do think I am getting closer to picking them up.  I know where the real library is and the library of Child & D, both of which have them in possession.  The problem is other stuff always appears that takes my attention away.  I am not naturally inclined to fantasy.
  10. Wicked by Greory Maguire.  I did read this before and I think it is hiding out somewhere in my parents’ house.  I only recently realized it is a part of a whole series of books and I think I might want to check out the rest.  But, the issue is that I read this book during med school interviews and I think amidst the stress and everything, I actually don’t remember most of it… So, a re-read is in order.

What are some of the books on your Spring TBR list?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books At the Top of My Spring To Be Read List

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Spring 2014 TBR List | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

