“Special” Days

It is Pi Day!  Happy Pi Day to all the nerds like me out there.  Pi is my second favourite irrational number with my first favourite being Euler’s number.  I wrote about this whole number thing in this post.

Today was also first day on yet another new service day, as well as first Gyne-Onc call shift day.  I like Pi Day better.  Although, at least this service has oncology in the name.  That makes it seem a bit more relevant.

Patrick likes to inform me at random about days that are entitled ___ Day.  He just out of the blue will say, “Hey, did you know it is Women’s Day (or Talk Like a Pirate Day, etc.).”  When we were dating, he would occasionally send me festive e-cards for a particular “day.”  Once, thanks to a very big ecard error in dates, I received an ecard he had sent me on a completely different date over a year earlier on a completely unrelated day.  It was for something not quite so obscure like St. Patrick’s Day, so I just thought he was being weird.  Turned out, the internet was being weird.

I am not a festive person, but having random days for things can be kind of fun.  At least sometimes.  At other times, it is just plain annoying.

For instance, my birthday is apparently “Hug Holiday.”  What the heck?  I hate hugs (for the most part).

Today is not only Pi day, but also National Potato Chip day and Learn About Butterflies day.  Fascinating.  I feel we need to go out and pick up a bag of chips after work… I like chips better than pie and it will make call better.

The other night was my last Internal Medicine call (big win!).  I had a suspicious feeling it would be eventful for a number of reasons, including that my parents were visiting and I wanted to go out with them the next day, but also that, well, it was my last call.  Apparently, it was not a full moon, but people were all squirrely and doing things like leaping out of bed and breaking hips and all sorts of colorfulness.  I deemed it the night of delirium, though I could have also called it more interesting names like the night of the walking (er… falling) confused or last call, but really delirium was the biggest trend.  Such is medicine call.

When I was in Nuc Med, this one time, we had a bunch of renal scans, which are a bit more labour intensive than your usual bone scans and cardiac scans (at least in that it involves a different radiopharmaceutical) and we deemed it renal day.  We also once had a technologist appreciation day during which all of the students baked stuff and shared it with the techs that helped teach us… It could also have been called find an excuse to eat excessive baked goods day.

This weekend, this small theatre locally is playing old-school To Kill a Mockingbird for a discounted rate.  I really want to go see it and keep reminding Patrick about it.  I am calling it To Kill a Bird weekend… Because that is what I called the book in high school.  And I need to pretend the weekend is special somehow, even though that will really only be a two hour block of time and it kind of sounds morbid.

If I had to pick a day that is “official,” I think, at this point I would choose either July 13, “Embrace Your Geekness Day,” or July 15 “Cow Appreciation Day.”  Although, close runners up would be November 6, “Saxophone Day,” May 14, “National Dance Like a Chicken Day,” or September 29, “National Coffee Day.”  The good thing is that they all fall on separate days, so I can theoretically legitimately celebrate all of them!

3 thoughts on ““Special” Days

  1. Fun post. I remember one night when I was in veterinary school and on emergency duty, we declared it Pulmonary Edema night! For some reason, every single dog who came in that night was in respiratory distress with pink froth bubbling out their noses. It also just happened to be April Fools Day. After about the 4th or 5th pulmonary edema case, the resident veterinarian on duty had to go peek outside the small animal clinic to see if there was a flashing sign outside saying that we were running a special on pulmonary edema! It was a crazy night!

      • Also, as foolish as this will sound to you, I know it is anatomically sensible that dogs get pulmonary edema, but it never occurred to me that this would be something that would happen regularly.

Please, share your thoughts!

