Top Ten Books You Just Had To Buy, But Still Haven’t Read

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday list with the Broke and Bookish is one that I really don’t get.  It is a list of the top ten books you just had to buy, but still haven’t read.  I am far too cheap (and poor student-ish) to buy many books that I don’t read right away.  Thus, this is a short list. 

  1. This Is Your Brain On Music by Daniel Levitin.  I bought this on a Chapters date with my friend, H a few years ago and started it, but got distracted and never finished.  To  be honest, I think she was supposed to borrow it and never did either.  I do want to pick it up again.  I just haven’t yet.
  2. The Secret History on the War on Cancer by Devra Davis.  This was $2 in a bargain bin at Chapters (again).  I thought it sounded hypothetically interesting.  I am not one for conspiracy theories and such, so I find it frustrating, but I want to finish it just to know what is out there or what other things that we don’t hear about might be happening.  The thing is that it is big and thick and can be a bit dull.  I am a few chapters in and now it lives in my nightstand… Where it has been for the last year and a half (seriously, it even survived a move).
  3. Tom Sawyer, The Prince and the Pauper, Huckleberry Finn and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain.  Actually, I didn’t buy these, but I did really want them and got them for Christmas.  And they haven’t been in the house that long.  But, to be honest, I haven’t gotten around to reading them (partly because Patrick has been holding them captive.
  4. Radiation Oncology: A Question Based Review by Hristov and friends.  I bought this with my textbook fund back in the early fall/late summer.  It arrived a week or two before I went off-service.   As a result, I have not had the time nor real need to pick it up.

That is about it for my list of shame.  Sure there are a few other books on our shelves that have gone unread, but they are ones that Patrick got that I want to read too, so I am pretty sure they don’t count.  Plus, even if I did include them I still wouldn’t get to ten.

Are you a person who buys books and doesn’t read them or are you stingy like me?  What are some of your had to have but have yet to be read books?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books You Just Had To Buy, But Still Haven’t Read

  1. 1)Look Great Feel Great by Joyce Meyer, 2)Tell Me Where it Hurts by Dr. Nick Trout, 3)Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz, 4)A Course in Weight Loss by Marianne Williamson, 5)Becoming the Woman God Wants Me to Be by Donna Partow. I think I have started all of these with good intentions of reading them but put them down for some reason or another and never picked them back up. I still intend to read them all. Some of them were books I got for a good deal at Goodwill and couldn’t pass them up. I eventually get around to reading most all the books I buy.

    • The good deal you can’t pass up thing is probably one of the biggest reasons I buy books next to me just plain loving to read.
      Interesting selection of books sitting on your shelves. I hope you get around to all of them.
      I must say, I have tried to read at least two of Joyce Meyer’s books and can’t get more than a chapter or two in before I would get annoyed because they feel to self-help-y/preachy to me. Something about her.

      • I know just what you mean. It’s funny, I usually like her books but the few times I’ve watched her preach on TV, she gets on my nerves in a bad way. (We don’t have cable TV so usually it’s at a hotel when I see her). I really liked her book, How to Hear from God. I have three of her devotional books I try to read daily (but don’t always succeed)– Starting Your Day Right, Ending Your Day Right, and Hearing from God Each Morning. I will admit, she explains things well in those for me and I get a lot out of them. Sometimes I read them and just have the odd feeling that it was really speaking right to me.

      • I have never watched her preach to know. I have seen some of her devotional stuff and what I glanced at was a bit different than the books. Maybe it is a small doses thing.

Please, share your thoughts!

