Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

Because I am a big reader, people often come to me for book recommendations.  They ask for something good and light or funny or informative.  The thing is, it is tough to know what someone might like.  It is one thing if you know what they normally read or don’t read or book shop with them often.  It is a whole other ball game when you really aren’t sure of when they really aren’t sure.

There are a few books that I tend to recommend more than others to people.  This week’s top ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish  is asking for just that… The top ten books I recommend the most (and the brief commentary that I usually add with it).

  1. Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  These are great, light reads and are awesome for taking you back to a simpler time, giving you little laughs and the warm fuzzies all at once.
  2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  Everyone read it in high school.  If you didn’t, you should.
  3. The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins.  I know it is YA and that might weird you out a bit, but these  books are full of layers and social commentary and really make you think.  Yes, sending kids out to fight is morbid, but the overarching storyline will keep you interested.
  4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  I just read this and I have already told several others to read it. It is so realistic.   It will make you laugh and cry… Possibly both at the same time.
  5. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery.  A Canadian classic.
  6. Not a Fan by Ken Idleman.  It is yet another book written by yet another mega church pastor, but it is well-written, witty and has a point.  It changed my perspective on faith, it could change yours too.
  7. The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.  Everyone except me read them as a kid.  I really enjoyed them as an adult. It is fun to go to another world and be old enough to actually grasp the symbolism.
  8. The Help by Kathryn Stockett.  Clever ,real and an easy read.  I loved how the different characters had their own voice and how their stories intertwined.
  9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  Some history, some fiction and death is a person.
  10. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling.  So funny.  I laughed hysterically and read half of it out loud to Patrick.  It was just so funny.

While writing this, I realized that I recommend a lot of different books to different people.  These are some of the more popular comers and ones that I would list first if we were talking books in general.  I will have to add Toronto Notes for specific medical book recommendations.

What are some books that you recommend to people regularly?  What are some books that you recommend to me?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

Please, share your thoughts!

