Top Ten Fictional Characters I Would Have a Crush on if I Were a Fictional Character

I love books.

Shocking, I know.

A fascinating phenomenon happens sometimes when I read… I get attached to characters.  I mean, like really attached.  So, as silly as this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic with the Broke and Bookish is, I can’t help but grin a little when I am asked to write about the top ten fictional characters I would have a crush on if I were a fictional character.  I am not saying I have crushes on many characters, but there are often things that make me get attached and things that if they were real, or if I were not, I would find these certain people more appealing.  I still don’t think I can even think of ten… At least not with the specific fiction category.  So, have no fear Patrick!

  1. Augustus Waters from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.  I love this guy’s humor, that he pretends to smoke because it is ironic and that he calls things as he sees them.  I like that he gave up/got his wish for a girl he cared about and the lengths he went through to show he cares.  I like that he was such a good friend.
  2. Atticus Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  A stand-up guy, a fantastic father… What isn’t there to love?
  3. Peeta Mellark from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  I know the kid wouldn’t kill anything and was, to be frank a bit manipulative, however, he is quite self-sacrificing, up front and, well, he bakes.  Plus, he reminds me of my husband a bit.
  4. Henry DeTamble from The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  Not that I want a time travelling man, but he was a pretty nice guy and I think it was sweet he stuck around even when she was little.
  5. Etienne St. Clair from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  He was a wee bit of a jerk (in my opinion), but made up for that with being such a superb tour guide and listener.
  6. YOUNG Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.  I mean young as in before he went all crazy and creepy-like.  When he was a kid/teen, he seemed pretty cool… I like the whole bad boy vibe.
  7. Gilbert Blythe from the Anne of Green Gables series by LM Montgomery.  He was an interesting guy.  I appreciate his stubborn streak and the way he puts up with Anne.  Makes me think he would tolerate me okay too.
  8. Roy Basch from The House of God by Samuel Shem.  I know he is a cheating, lying jerk, but again bad boys are cool and I kind of get him in a weird way.
  9. Hans Hubermann from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  Again, fantastic father figure, good husband, provider and a fantastic example in the midst of near impossible times.
  10. Honourable mentions from television… Ephraim Brown from  Everwood and Jess Mariano from Gilmore Girls.

I am out of people.  I really don’t develop crushes on many characters of books, clearly, even though I get attached to them.  In fact half of these were a stretch.

Who are some of your fiction crushes?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Fictional Characters I Would Have a Crush on if I Were a Fictional Character

  1. Good list. I love Augustus as well and he made my list as well. I also have always liked Peeta and I love that acknowledge that St.Clair isn’t perfect, I have alot of problems with his character so it’s nice to hear that other people can see his flaws.

    • Augustus seems to be on a number of lists.
      I actually almost didn’t put St Clair on my list because of his flaws… But I needed to add another few names so he made the cut. I am glad I am not the only one who notices his flaws too.

  2. What a great idea! Like you, I don’t normally have crushes on fictional characters, but I do love Gilbert (as you can tell from my blog), Peeta, and Henry from The Time Traveller’s Wife. Other than that, I’ve had a long-time love for Mr Darcy, even in his awkward beginning chapters because I kind of like awkward men, and I love Professor Lupin from the Harry Potter books.

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s made lists like this! Sadly, not a lot of overlap on our lists except for Atticus (he’s so dashing!), but Prince Hal from Shakespeare’s Henry IV, Jay Gatsby from The Great Gatsby, and Mr. Knightley from Jane Austen’s Emma have been topping out my own list for awhile 🙂

Please, share your thoughts!

