Excuses, excuses…

It was pointed out to me by several people (which blows my mind a little) that I am behind on posting.  By a whole two days.

I know… Mind blowing.

I do skip posts sometimes.  But this week was particularly crazy…

It was just me an a new senior resident this week.  That meant that we were busier overall.  I got to scrub in to a ton of surgeries, which has its pros and its cons.  I must admit, I am feeling much more comfortable with the whole thing (I have mastered the art of cutting and stapling… Kind of like kindergarten), although by Wednesday evening, I thought I might need a foot transplant (I refuse to buy proper OR shoes because I will RARELY use them in real life).

Tuesday night, chemo was running late, so I had to stay until that was over.  It was 7 by the time things wrapped up.  I had been there since before 7 that morning.  I still posted, but I was pretty pooped that night because we were out the night before too.

We had our D-group… aka small group on Wednesday night.  We ate pizza, talked about the resurrection and had a worship session complete with tambourines and other noise makers.  It ran late.  We got in at 9 and I still had to skim my research presentation for the next day and do reading for the ORs the next morning.  So, no post.

Yesterday was my department’s resident research day.  I was convinced to present by the lovely Dr. Bond.  I was terrified of looking like an idiot in front of people.  Somehow the coolness of my research combined with my love for public speaking managed to score me the award for the best rad onc resident presentation and the best overall resident presentation… It included a cash reward that will now enable Patrick and I to do something like go away on a romantic evening or something wild like that… Whoo.  After all of the research festivities, we went out for a drug company sponsored fancy supper.  They lit my desert on fire.  ON FIRE!  I got home at 9 and still had to inform my husband and parents of my exciting news. By the time that stuff was done it was past my bed time.

That leads me to tonight.  I am on call… Yet again.  It seems that happens a lot.  But, at least I have the time to post.  And catch up on some TV (possibly).  There were new shows of almost everything I watch this week… And I am weeks behind on some of them.  We are making butter chicken lasagna (I know… So weird, but it was on sale at Superstore) and chilling out for the evening (unless I get called in, which is likely given my present track record).

Instead of writing a post about something interesting, I decided to do the stereotypical make excuses about why I did not post thing.  I know, it is cliché.  But, I thought it actually does sum up the interesting stuff in my week.  Plus sometimes you need a self-satisfying “wah wah, this is how big my week was.”

I can’t make any guarantees, but things will hopefully be more interesting tomorrow.

How was your week?

2 thoughts on “Excuses, excuses…

  1. WOW, congrats on the award! Hope you are able to do something lovely. Frankly I don’t know how you blog, research, study, take call, work your residency hours, be a mom to your husband, uh, I mean cat, be a wife to your husband and find time for the other 1000 things in life. You amaze me.

    • Awe, thanks! I am looking forward to doing something lovely.
      Hahaha… It sounds like a lot when you write it all out, but I think it is one of those things… You do what you have to do in life. And really, without God, I am sure I would lose my mind!

Please, share your thoughts!

