Top Ten Books I Liked Less/More Than I Thought I Would

We all have books that we are dying to read and then get to finally read just to discover they weren’t that great and other books we don’t really look forward to and then discover they are fantastic.  This week’s top ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish addresses those very books… The top ten books I liked less/more than I thought I would.

Books I thought I would like more than I did:

  1. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  I do like Jodi Picoult’s books and such, but after all of the hype, I found this one disappointing.  It wasn’t consistently medically accurate and the whole thing ended badly.  I liked it, but was disappointed in it.
  2. Beatrice and Virgil by Yann Martel.  I was a huge fan of Life of Pi, so I assumed that the newest book by Yann Martel would be fantastic.  It was not.  Both Patrick and I agreed that it was disappointing.
  3. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.  I have heard such great things about this classic, but for some reason, I had a hard time getting into it and staying focused on it.
  4. This Is Your Brain on Music by Daniel Levitin.  I have expressed my disappointment in this book before.  I still have yet to pick it back up and finish it, but it was not what I expected thus far.
  5. Almost everything by Joyce Meyer.  I am sorry that I seem to have a hate on for Joyce Meyer.  I know her books and her ministry make a huge difference to some people, but whenever I read anything by her, no matter how highly it comes recommended, I always find it disappointing.  Her writing is just too self-helpy or something for me.

Books I wound up liking more than I thought I would:

  1. The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel.  I devoured this book because it was written how I think.  Most of my friends say they hated it, so I put off reading it until I had nothing else in my apartment and I finished it in a day.
  2. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  If you would have talked to me two years ago, I would have said that I was not in to young adults books and that the Hunger Games series was not my thing.  I heard so many people rave about them that I bought the books and wound up loving them even more than I thought.
  3. Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger.  I thought The Devil Wears Prada was okay and when I got this book, it was more because it was a dollar and I needed something to read at work during my break.  It turned out to be funnier and more interesting than I anticipated.
  4. The Circle by Ted Dekker.  Patrick bought this book last year and I was intrigued because it was so huge and the Biblical parallels sounded interesting.  When I got around to readining it, I thought I wouldn’t love it because it seemed too action-packed/fantasy-like to be my sort of book, but it surprised me.  It was deep and kept you interesting, even if it did seem outlandish at times.
  5. A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen.  Patrick bought this book in London because it was set there and about a cat.  I had no plans to read it, but once he started telling me about it, I decided to give it a go.  It was such an adorable, heartwarming tale, I couldn’t help but love it.

What are some books that surprised you by either being less than your expectations or more than your expectations?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Liked Less/More Than I Thought I Would

  1. I read Charles Dicken’s A Tale of Two Cities a few years ago. It had been on my list of books to read for so long as I had heard so many good things about it. It was one of the least popular books in my book club group. I detested it (we all did) and it took all I had to finish it. I’m not sure I will ever read another Charles Dicken’s book again.

    I loved Life of Pi too…. loved it much more than I ever thought I would. It’s one of my favorite books now.

    One I really didn’t like after hearing SO many good things about it, how good it was, etc., was The Time Traveler’s Wife. Ugh. It took me a long time to finish it and I only finished it because I kept thinking it would get better. It didn’t.

    A book I didn’t think I would like but ened up loving was Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese. I really got into that book and liked the medicine part of it which at times could be very graphic. (The author is an MD so I’m pretty sure all of it was described accurately). I actually missed the characters for weeks after reading the book!

    • Funny… I loved The Time Traveller’s Wife more than I thought I could. Weird how that works sometimes.

      I find Dickens books are hit or miss with me.

      I haven’t heard of the Stone book you speak of. I may just need to check it out.

  2. I liked The Hunger Games more than I thought I would as well! Anytime I’ve tried to read Charles Dickens it hasn’t gone well for me. I just don’t care for his writing style.

  3. Little Women by Lousia May Alcott…I liked it much less than I anticipated. In fact, I stopped reading it. Read maybe 40% and it seemed like a plateau that just dragged on getting nowhere. I am so ashamed!!!

  4. I posted my picks today, but I have to say I agree about Great Expectations. I read it in school and didn’t like it, tried it again a few years ago and still couldn’t get into the characters. I’ve read several other Dickens books and love them all, but not that one. And yet my sister-in-law liked Great Expectations so much she had a passage read at their wedding. To each her own….

    I also loved The Case for Christ. I got it for free from Campus for Christ and ended up devouring it during “breaks” while studying. I love how he presented all the information. Have you read Cold Case Christianity? It’s supposed to be along the same lines.

    • That was my issue too.,. I have loved other Dickens books. I have also not cared for a few. I know someone who loved Great Expectations as well. I just don’t get why.

      I haven’t read Cold Case Christianity. Sounds interesting though.

    • I know, at first I refused to read it because I thought it was only for teens, then it was that it sounded kind of gory. I was still hesitant because it was so trendy, but I am glad the gaggle of book bloggers convinced me otherwise.

  5. Mindy Kalings’ is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? I had heard it was funny from several friends and found it terrible. I suffered through it to say I gave it a chance.

    On the other hand I read Tina Fey’s Bossy Pants and laughed so hard throughout. Did not expect that!

    • I loved Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me. I would have been one of those people who suggested it to you. But, everyone is different. That is for sure!

      I have not read Bossy Pants. I will have to check it out. I love a good funny read!

Please, share your thoughts!

