Top Ten Books To Read When You Need Something Light and Fun

I love a good “fun book.”  And usually I use the term “fun book” to mean pretty much any book I am reading outside of school.  This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish asks for a list of your top ten books to read when you need something light and fun. 

That list does not include all of what I label “fun books.”  In fact, there are times where Patrick is trying to convince me to read something less intense.  So, this list comprises light and fun “fun books.”

  1. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling.  I laughed all the way through this and related to a good chunk of it.  She is quite candid and at times dry and sarcastic, so it made for me an entertaining and uplifting read.
  2. The Guinea Pig Diaries by AJ Jacobs.  The fact that this guy subjects himself and his family to the most random of adventures and “experiments” makes me so happy.  He reminded me a lot of my husband too, so I found even more humor in his quirkiness.
  3. Anything Emily Giffin.  I say this having only read two of her books, but they were entertaining and I did get really into them, but they weren’t emotionally draining or intense.  Just fun to read.
  4. The Don Cherry books.  Hockey stories told from the perspective of Don Cherry… He is a funny guy.  He is blunt and opinionated, but I can’t help but laugh even when what he says is kind of offensive just because I can hear him talking in my head.
  5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  This book was a good mixture of light and funny with a flare of a place that intrigues me.  Plus it took me back to the simpler times of high school.  I really liked it and that kind of surprised me, but the fact it was so fun makes me think it would be good to pick up at a time when I want something lighter.
  6. The Little House On the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  The books bring me back to childhood and simpler times.  And really, they are quite funny when you look at some of the things these kids did and said.
  7. Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger.  I didn’t love the Devil Wears Prada, but this lesser-known book got me through residency interviews.  I loved that it took me to a world I can’t imagine in the New York PR scene.
  8. Julie and Julia by Julie Powell.  I love how the story flips back and forth and I also love reading about food.  Plus, she is so candid and honest.  It is a light, but fun read.
  9. The Anne of Green Gables series by LM Montgomery.  Anne is such a fantastic and loveable character, I can’t help but smile when I read about her escapades.  Again, they are easier reads and they bring me back to childhood.
  10. Anything by Roald Dahl.  This guy creates the best characters and random worlds.  Plus, they are excellent childhood throwbacks and grounded in a world that is kind of realistic but really not.  A great escape.

What are some books you like when you recommend when someone wants to read something light and fun?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books To Read When You Need Something Light and Fun

    • It is really funny. I have heard some people say they didn’t like it. I am not a big Office fan and I can’t stand the Mindy Project, but nonetheless I found the book fantastic.

  1. I like that you include Roald Dahl. Makes me feel better about my Dr. Seuss focus! They’re fun and light reads, because those guys are so creative! The rest of these I haven’t read though I do plan on reading Anna and the French Kiss sometime just because everyone raves about it (I just really hate that cover. Ew.)

    • They are fantastic guys!
      Anna and the French Kiss sketched me out too… The cover is kind of icky and the title alone put me off. It was cute though.

  2. I just reread Little House on the Prairie last weekend, and I thought about putting it on my list for the reasons you said. Plus, these days it’s a really quick read!

    I’ve read one Emily Giffin book, and while “chick lit” isn’t something I normally seek out, I’m going to have to read the rest of her books because it was such a quick and fun read. (Plus, I’m catching up on the Game of Thrones books and I need something to break those up…)

    • I was really surprised in Emily Giffin too. I had a friend recommend her to me and I was extremely skeptical and pleasantly surprised. They are great to break up intense series and such.
      Little House is fantastic. Possibly better in adulthood!

  3. I’ve seen Mindy’s book on several lists so I might have to check it out. I do love the title because I can totally relate. I agree with what you and Asti said in the comments about the title and cover for Anna and the French Kiss, but maybe I will check it out sometime too.

  4. Aw, great picks. I had a few children’s books on my list, too — there must be something about needing a pick-me-up that sends you back to the old favorites.

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

