Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is the opposite of last week.  This week is the top ten books dealing with tough subjects.

  1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.  I know this will be on a ton of lists.  I really like how this book addressed cancer in teens and how it impacts lives of kids.  So well written.
  2. Room by Emma Donoghue.  This book deals with what is one of my worst nightmares.  Being kidnapped and held captive.  I love how it looks not only at the time in “room” but also the recovery process and the struggles that go along with that.
  3. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  Not the whole book.  I can do without the younger years love story crap.  What I am talking about is dealing with aging and memory loss and such.  Touchy stuff for me.  I thought it addressed the hope and sorrows well.
  4. Roots by Alex Haley.  This is an epic and it addresses so much stuff around slavery that it blew my mind (probably not the best reading choice at age 13).
  5. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay.  I wept throughout this book.  It looks not only at the difficult topic of the holocaust, but at the secrets of events taking part in Paris, as well as the more direct waves it caused through one family.
  6. The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee.  Any book that can somehow process and regurgitate the entire basic history of cancer and make it so intriguing and personal is a good book.
  7. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I liked how this book looked at racism from both sides of the story.
  8. Sing You Home or Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult.  As much as her books follow a form, they do often look at controversial issues like IVF and who owns the fetuses or concepts like prenatal diagnosis.
  9. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  Not only does this book look at racism in the south, but also issues around parenthood and mental illness.
  10. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseni.  War, family ties and scandal classism and other violent acts.  This book addresses a lot of tough stuff.

What are some books that you liked or felt did a good job addressing difficult subjects?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

  1. I’ve read exactly half of the books on your list and have others on my to-read list. I almost didn’t get through The Kite Runner. Whew! It was tough to read. I didn’t even attempt A Thousand Splendid Suns due to two different people (both avid readers and one being my pediatrician) who told me they just couldn’t get through it. Have you read it? I remember watching Roots on TV. My mother was thrilled when she found out Alex Haley would be speaking at my vet school graduation. I think she was more thrilled by that than she was with her daughter graduating. LOL!

    • I found The Kite Runner was tough to read, but by the time I got to the point of wanting to stop, I just had to finish it. Patrick bought me A Thousand Splendid Suns, though I have yet to read it.
      My grade 8 history teacher showed us some of the TV series, that is what prompted me to read the book. I would have been pretty pumped to hear him speak. Funny how excited your Mom was, though!

Please, share your thoughts!

